1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ostrich

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by preludebuddy, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. preludebuddy

    preludebuddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    putting the rad in colorado
    I was talking to this guy last night and he was telling me about this stuff called ostrich. I've asked around locally but nobody seems to know anything about it. All I've heard it was related to uberdata. Have you guys heard or do you know anything about it?
     
  2. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Ostrich is a rom emulator made by Moates.net. It is similar to the Romulator. I have not used one but from what I hear they work as designed. It allows you to make real time adjustments to fuel/spark maps for tuning.
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    Product Description: This is THE standalone USB emulator. It might be the ONLY one. It will emulate 2732A, 27C128, 27C256, 27C512, and more! Up to 4mbit (29F040) 8-bit emulation. Robust, USB-based realtime EPROM emulation in the palm of your hand! Battery backup lasts 75 years (standard AAA), so you can leave it in the car if you want to. With this device, you can upload an entirely new binary without a hiccup while the car is running. Or, you can change one parameter at a time. Fully compatible with TunerPro RT and TunerCat.

    http://www.moates.net/product_info.php?cPa...&products_id=57

    not too knowledgable on ecu's but i think it lets you do the tuning with this tool, and then when the tooling is done you burn the chip with the final results...
     
  4. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004


    yes but you need a chip burner to burn your program to a chip, the ostrich will not burn or tune anything on its own. but it does enable to tune your ecu via a tuning program. ex. Crome pro! :)
     
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    yeah, and once you have a program, you can leave it on ostrich, and ditch the laptop. Or, when you go to the track you can whip out the laptop, change to a different map to let you use nitrous or if you change your boost with your turbo, you can correct the fuel maps. Ostrich is VERY useful. If i were to use Uberdata or Crome, i would DEFINITELY invest in Ostrich.
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    both the ostrich and the Xtronics romulator are Rom Emulators.
    They have plugs the same shape as the EEPROM chips. but, they are electronic devices. They will store a program for like 70 years on the internal watch-style battery or something.
    but, if you don't want to keep the $175 unit dragging around your passenger floor, you burn a chip with the program, and then you can tuck the ecu away behind the carpet again.


    and this thread is like a year old... wtf
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    lol, i didnt even notice. now the number of posts makes sense. i thought i was losing my mind.
     
  8. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004

    hahah yeah that would be my fault, i was using the search to find a bit more info on ostrich, and i came across this thread. why i put a response is even beyond me. brain fart!
     
  9. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers
    not to thread jack but......where can i get the crome program from? cant seem to find it anywhere
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  11. xenocron

    xenocron Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bergen Co., NJ
    The Ostrich will be used for tuning...and if you have an Ostrich, a burner really isnt required since the battery inside of it is designed to last for about 15-30 years...

    I just hang the USB cable inside of my glove box and pull it out whenever I need to make updates, it handy and 10 million times better than burning and swapping chips.
     
  12. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Just an informational update on this description. You CANNOT load a new binary to the ostrich while the car is running. I've tried. The ecu freaks out and then the car dies, all the while the CEL relay is wigging out behind the dash and making this gnarly clicking noise. Fun times. At least that is my experience with OBD0, it may be different for obd1.
     
  13. stickyfusion

    stickyfusion Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005


    I think i'm kinda missing something...so the ostrich burns the chip already in your ecu so there is no need to change chips? or does the ostrich stay in your car the whole time attached to your zif socket. also i'm guessing the ostrich gets its bins from a pc or laptop running crome or uberdata. will hondata work? i'm new to this tuning stuff so...
     
  14. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    hondata has its own system and doesnt need ostrich. but ostrich stays attached to your car the entire time (unless you burn a chip with something else).
     
  15. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Hondata does NOT have it's own system. Hondata used to sell Romulators to tune with, but I imagine their software might support the Ostrich by now. But I don't keep up with Hondata, that is a bad word on the PGMFI.org forums :). Last time I checked, they still modified stock ecus, they weren't making standalones like the AEM, Electromotive, Motec, etc. systems.

    And the ostrich is an emulator, not a chip burner. It is a little black box with a PCB in it, and has a eprom little plug in thing to stick into the socket on the ecu. No burning of chips required.
     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    from what i understand the S300 has its own system, but someone correct me if im wrong.
     
  17. MikeBergy

    MikeBergy Blah blah blah....

    Messages:
    3,646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Location:
    Central Coast, CALI
    Like I said, it's possible, I am not up to date on my hondata. PGMFI owns me!
     
  18. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the s300 has a flash rom built onto it.
    there are no chips.
     
  19. DelSlo

    DelSlo Senior Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004

    thats pretty bad ass!



    hey i read today on homemadeturbo a dude said that crome pro doesnt datalog.
    but on tunewithcrome.com it says one of the features is datalogging. whats the deal there??

    sorry just didnt think my question was worth starting a thread over.
     
  20. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    crome pro does datalog...normal crome doesnt.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page