1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oxygen Sensor Placement

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by mauger, Mar 24, 2003.

  1. mauger

    mauger Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    where do you put the 2 nd o2 sensor in a header or can you weld a bung i the cat? i have a 91 civic with a b16a w pr3 ecu
     
  2. riceboy

    riceboy Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas
    you can put a bung in the cat
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    it technically should go AFTER the cat on the cat for best reading
     
  4. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
  5. Larryd

    Larryd Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    :rolleyes: You should put the second bung at the same relitave spot as the sensors in the cast manifold. The computer reads the mixture in two pair of cylinders. The also have to be in the corect order. I think white plug is no 1.....Larry
     
  6. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    i going through the same problem except im using a b18c w/ obdo injectors and dist. and a skunk2 intake manifold . the b18c only has i sensor before the cat.
     
  7. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    how could the computer tell which sensor was infront of which?... i think for the pr3 ecu, both o2 sensors should be relatively close to one another.
     
  8. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    here it goes loud and clear for ya... taken directly from a b16a1 crx manual... using an obd0 pr3 ecu... notice where the two oxygen sensors are placed? in the same fucking spot! getting readings from the same place.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    So if you buy a new header your best bet would be to put one in the cat?
     
  10. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    right before the cat.
     
  11. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Is there hi flow cats with holes already in there. i know there is a stock cat from a 95 gsr for sale and it has a o2 sensor on it. whats the performance diff between a stock and a hi flow?
     
  12. wildbillhatchbac

    wildbillhatchbac the OG VIP

    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    OBD1 1 o2 sensor . . . in the manifold, before the cat

    OBD2 2 o2 sensors . . . 1 in the manifold and the 2nd in or after the cat

    OBD2 ecus can read the difference between pre cat and after cat exhaust oxygen levels . . . if you have no cat or even some high flow cats will or can through a code . . P0420 catylist deterioration
     
  13. legutki

    legutki Senior Member

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    I found out that pr3 can be reprogrammed to read only one o2 sensor. for more info look at gbrtuning.com or email greg at vtec4gs@aol.com :D
     
  14. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD

    yea, hondata can also do that, its called making your ecu run in open loop mode. a closed loop mode will read both oxygen sensors.
     
  15. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i thought open loop didn't use O2 sensors at all??>???
     
  16. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD

    exactly, open reads none, and closed(stock setting) reads both
     
  17. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    but he said that you can reprogram it to read ONE o2 sensor.. and you said hondata can do that and make it run open loop. nevermind lol
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page