1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

p08 or p28?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Kovalski, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. Kovalski

    Kovalski New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario OR
    Ok got the motor, now need a ecu. What would be my best bet and what one will work better for the d15b vtec. My car is a 95 coupe dx, i'm put that motor in when i get the ecu and harness. let me know if u have for sale or can find one. ty much agian. KOV:cool:
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You can get your P05/P06 or P28 converted to a "P08". I had just sold my P05(with VTEC conversion and socketing kit with a P08 basemap) about a two weeks ago for $60.
     
  3. sufikation

    sufikation Active Member

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Fruitland, ID
    wait so i p28 needs to be converted...i was not aware of that.
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    P28 just needs a socketing kit with a P08 map burned on there. A P05/P06 would need that socketing kit in addition with the VTEC conversion kit.
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    i was thinking the p28 would run it fine with no chipping, but you need to run a 4 wire 02 sensor
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  6. sufikation

    sufikation Active Member

    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    Fruitland, ID
    so where are the conversions done, is it something we do ourselves or take to a shop. kov and i do not know how to solder so im sure thats something we will need to learn for this as well.
     
  7. Kovalski

    Kovalski New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario OR
    Dam I wish knew what the hell that all meant.. But ty much for the help. i'm kind of getting lost on all this, theres so much to do and not enough time or money..DAM..ty agian Kov.
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yes, it's just soldering. There's a couple of write-ups; just google it, or even Xenocron's website has a how-to. It's not really hard once you get the hang of it.

    A P28 will run it fine but you have to run a 4-wire O2; if you don't it'll throw a code. If you get it chipped or socketed, you can disable the O2 heater which would get rid of that code.

    It's literally a P08 chip inside of a P28.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Kovalski

    Kovalski New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario OR
    Sweet ty man I will look into it more but i dont feel to confident about doing it myself so were going to try to find someone to do it for us i hope, if not we will sure give it a shot..So what tools will i need to do it my self? Thanks agian bro u rok the honda well..
     
  10. jdmrex08

    jdmrex08 New Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    why cant you just get a stock d15b ecu?
     
  11. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    They're hard to find, really. I have one, but I'm using it. :)
    Also, chipping/socketing is good for if you're going to get a tune in the future....why not already chip the ECU you already have for like $40-50.

    You could send your ECU to Xenocron and they'll do it for you, just not sure how much they charge.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2009
  12. 94H_Ex

    94H_Ex Under employed

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    It may be cheaper, to just get a common P06 ecu thats laying around and chip it up than to actually find the P08 (D15B) ecu. this is actually not a bad idea considering i have about 3 or 4 P06 ecu's laying around and I need a vtec ecu for my ex. Yes i could just buy the p28 ecu and install it and be done with it. Or I can get a better mapped ecu and install some nice hondata parts while im in there. :cool:
     
  13. Kovalski

    Kovalski New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario OR
    I just bout a stock p08 just to make it easyer on us. Its was spendy but I had the cahs and wanted to do it right and well the first time. 142$ :( I have spent now on the hole swap 1100$ and I know it will be around 2k for the hole thing being done and runing right but i'm doing most of the labor so its going to be alot cheeper in the long run.Woot
     
  14. 93civicracer

    93civicracer Oh, I do a little here and there.

    Messages:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I spent a total of $1,040 shipped on my swap that was engine, tranny, ecu. But I got free oil and coolant, that's really all you need for this swap man you shouldn't need fuckin $2,000.

    Unless you're replacing the parts I recommended and a tune-up that is.
     
  15. 94H_Ex

    94H_Ex Under employed

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    oil, coolant and a tune up shouldnt run about 2k.. but if he's replacing cv axles and other parts that are giving codes, as well as fan not turning on, then add in the engine and everything. yeah. 2k sounds about right.

    remember. hes doing it right. no wiring the fan up to where you turn the car on, the fan is on. ;)
     
  16. Kovalski

    Kovalski New Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ontario OR
    I'm cleaning every part that i'm takeing off of the old motor and new motor, almost every part. I was told by my dad to, for the fact that a clean motor and clean parts will last alot longer and keep this motor in awesome shape for years to come. 2k was a rough estimate I will be spending more on a new things. I'm cutting off my fartcan and putting on a stock Si muf, if i can find one, also I bout some new seat for my car and going to get new stiffer mounts for the motor and tranny. To much to list right now, but will have a list after i'm all done for you guys..Peace Kov
     
  17. 94H_Ex

    94H_Ex Under employed

    Messages:
    1,453
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    Energy Suspension engine mount inserts ftw. I paid 40 dollars for my set, they insert to the mounts that receive the most amount of torque. passanger lower, driver lower, and rear mount. I also have a set in my shifter rods, makes it feel stiffer and more of solid shift.
     
  18. roots4thought

    roots4thought New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    d15b info

    is there a post that list all the info for doing a swap like this? i'm sure there is but have no idea how to find it. if anyone knows of such a thread i would be happy to click on the link if provided :)
     
  19. JDMBoOsT

    JDMBoOsT New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    p08 ecu and p28 ecu are pretty much the same except p08 runs a one wire o2, and p28 runs a 4 wire
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page