1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P13 ECU CHIP PROBLEM

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by 2.3 prelude, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. 2.3 prelude

    2.3 prelude Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    Hope some of you guys and gals can help have had my 2.2 running brilliantly for the last month or so and have now as off today chipped my ecu with a MX superchip with remap ability which i found in my local scrap yard in mint condition now this is were the problems start we put the chip in on the ecu and the car started perfect and ran perfect then the engine management light came on and she will not rev beyond 3000rpm even when driving she bogs down back firing now the chip came of a 2.2 vtec p13 ecu so what is the problem one pin was broken on the chip but fixed have drove the car home and she is still back firing and idiling at about 1800rpm now thats not normal can any one give me advice [​IMG]
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    what the fuck?

    what mods do you have on your motor to need a chip?
    what map is on the chip?
    did you remap it?
    do you have the ability to remap it?
    why didn;t you just use the other P13 instead of hacking it apart to put the chip in yours?
    broken pin? how did you fix it?
    how good are you with ecu's etc...?

    CEL = limp mode, = pulls the timing, dumps lots of fuel, no vtec, and low rev limit...

    if you don;t have any means of remapping the chip, and have no motor mods, and the chip was not designed for your specific motor/mods then you have absolutely no right using it and are hereby awarded the darwin award for honda ECU's...

    what ecu do you have?
    did you un-solder your chip and resolder this chip in?
     
  3. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    [​IMG]

    you really shouldn't chip your ecu if you don't know what your doing.
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    for that matter, you shouldnt put a chip on a p13
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    :werd:

    p13's don't respond well at ALL to chips.

    there's only like 1 serial model of them that are 90% successful.

    throw that ecu in the trash, buy a p72 if want to chip. or another p13 and leave it stock.

    what mods do you have that warrant the need to change your fuel and ignition maps?


    ask first, do later.
    it saves you money.
     
  6. 2.3 prelude

    2.3 prelude Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    We do know what we are doing thats the thing so a p72 ecu then or would it be simpler getting a vtec controller?
    plus the ecu that we did chip was a restricted ecu with a top speed of 115mph how would you combat that any way ?
     
  7. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    do you have a p13 vtec ecu? or are you trying to chip the h23 ecu?

    if your motor is stock then just go with a P13
    you can;t beat honda's R and D on engine managment
    some generic chip with just make you run rich and actually loose horsepower

    to get rid of the speed limiter you would need to have it disabled

    stock motor = stock P13, get a diffrent version if you don't want the speed limiter

    do you have motor mods?
    if so do you have an aftermarket intake manifold?

    aftermarket manifolds have no IAB's so you could chip a P28 sohc vtec ecu
    if you have a stock manifold you need to chip a P72 so it operates your IAB's properly...

    o rly?
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    jdm p13's are even worse than usdm p13's.
     
  9. 2.3 prelude

    2.3 prelude Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    SCOTLAND
    And how would you derestrict the p13 in what method
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  11. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    :werd:

    Or a new IM and a P28
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page