1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P28 Auto to Manual ECU...

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by hosmer, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    They both use the same boards.


    Take out RP17 and RP18, replace RP18 with a jumper wire and leave RP17 open

    I'll put a volt meter on them afterward too, nice and scientific like.


    I'll try it, if it works I'll post it up...maybe with a pic or 2 :)
     
  2. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
  3. Z6CRX

    Z6CRX übber ɐɾuıu etarip

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I've been looking at the the same thing with mine for a while, just havent gotten around to it. Good luck with it though, looks pretty easy to do.
    :thumbsup:
     
  4. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    thanks, I forgot about the transistors.
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Do you have to remove the transistors?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  7. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    I ended up not pulling the transistors and put the ECU back in the car...only code it was giving me was a 41 (which was there before)





    I dunno, I'll pull them anyway when I get back up there....I'm doing all this to my brothers car
     
  8. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I didn't take the transistors out either but I don't know if it's throwing any codes because I have no gauge installed right now.
     
  9. jeffsciv23

    jeffsciv23 Senior Member

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Location:
    Wa
    i'm pretty sure you don't need to take the transistors out because when you jump RP18 it doesn't look for anything else that has to do with an auto tranny.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page