1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

p28 or p72 ecu?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by loko123, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    which ecu is better and will work great with a 94 b18c1 p28 or p72? is going on a 97 ek hatch with the 96-98 civic ex EWH with obd2a to obd1 jumper harness.
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Uh...which ECU goes with the motor? That would be the P72, so use it...

    Honda ECUs aren't magical, they won't just automatically run any motor you put them on. The P28 will only work if you get it chipped and custom-tuned to your motor setup...
     
  3. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    The p28 will need to be chipped to run the b-series engine. As for the p72, there are multiple versions of them. There are obd1 and obd2 just to make it easier to understand. You will need the obd1 p72. You will know when you try to plug the jumper harness into the ecu. I would use the obd1 p72.
     
  4. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    ok thanks i'll get the p72 obd1 then. what will be a good chip to put on that ecu to make it rev to 9500 rpm?
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Why would you need that? Unless the motor's built to rev that high and make power that high, then that's completely pointless...

    Is your motor built? Or is it stock?
     
  6. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    No chip will be needed. Your engine makes power up to 8200rpm or so. No need to float a valve spinning the engine to 9500rpm without making any power. Keep the ecu virginized.
     
  7. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    yea its stock but if i'm gonna put some cams in there like SK2S2 then i could rev that high right?
     
  8. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Not necessarily. You'll also need to upgrade your valve train in order to safely rev your engine that high. And even then, you don't wanna just throw some pre-tuned chip into your ECU. You'll want to have your car chipped and tuned professionally...
     
  9. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    yea i know and by valve train u mean springs and retainer? or that with new valves
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yes, springs and retainers. And like I said, have a tuner custom tune all of this. Don't go with some "E-Bay special" ECU chip...
     
  11. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
  12. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    WHAT IS IT WITH PEOPLE WHO THINK THEY NEED TO REV TO 9500 RPMS.

    /end rant
     
  13. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    :D i saw the omniman dvd and he rev to 9500 and he was making power
     
  14. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Well, we get a lot of people on here asking dumb questions like "how do I raise my rev limiter?" and "can I rev past my stock red-line?" not realizing that doing things like that are pointless unless your motor's been modified to actually make power that high...
     
  15. loko123

    loko123 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    what also are some good power gainers add-ons besides the cams intake and headers? does brand name products really matter and i also heard that the intake manifold sucks @ss its crap so which one is a good ITM?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page