1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

p28 with jdm d15b?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by d15bsedan, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. d15bsedan

    d15bsedan New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    will the p28 ecu work with the jdm d15b? more so will the ecu control the vtec correctly, and does it have the correct mapping for the 1.5l ?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it will work but you will need a 4 wire o2 sensor
     
  3. d15bsedan

    d15bsedan New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    so if i just get the 4 wire o2 sensor, i'll be set with the p28? and would you know how to wire the vtec solenoid
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea it will be fine and ready to run a p28 as long as you have a 4 wire 02../and yes i can run a vtec wire.. just run it from the solenoid to the proper pin out on the ecu
     
  5. thumper1989

    thumper1989 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I don't think he's talking about the 3-stage motor. I think he's got just a regular OBD1 D15B. It's like a Z6 minus .1 liters of displacement...
     
  7. thumper1989

    thumper1989 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Alright. Honda needs to have a better system for naming it's engines.
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    naa its perty easy
     
  9. thumper1989

    thumper1989 New Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Ok, the D,B,K...15,16,17, etc at the beginning is straight forward. There is no certain designation in an engines code that says if it's VTec or not though. Then there are two D15B engines. If they had it more like D15V3 for the 3 stage VTec engine, and D15V for the engine that's essentially just a mini-me B7, then it would make it a bit simpler to keep all the engines straight. For the VTec-E engines, there'd be an "EV" in place of the "V". Then for engines like the different USDM D series 1.5 liter engines, we'd have D15B8 for the 8 valve engine found in older Civics, and the D15B7 would then be a D15B16.

    That may not have made sense, but I'm trying to use some kind of logic for how the engines could be named.
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well i guess after you learn them all it just seems easy
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    For the D15B engines, you could just specify OBD1 or OBD2. The OBD1 version is the one that's like a Z6. The OBD2 version is the one with the 3-stage VTEC.

    JDM engines are tricky because they never have a fifth digit at all. A B18C in Japan could refer to any number of engines (SiR-G, Type R, etc.)...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page