1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

passing emissions

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by usmcbugle85@hotmail.com, Nov 25, 2006.

  1. usmcbugle85@hotmail.com

    usmcbugle85@hotmail.com Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C / Northern Virginia
    I have a 2000 Civic Si turbo. Nothing too major going on with the turbo. The problem I have is that I have the P2T ecu so I can run the Hondata S300. I still have the stock ecu to use for emissions test, if needed, but wont that throw all sorts of codes? I also still have the cat and all sensors are hooked up. So basically what Im asking is how do I pass emissions being that I have an OBD1 ecu in my car?
     
  2. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    If they test you in D.C. like they do here, you can't.
     
  3. spoolin@idle

    spoolin@idle D Series FTL

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    move to a state that isn't as harsh on emissions testing, or find a shop that will slip you under the table.

    it's all about who you know brotha.
     
  4. usmcbugle85@hotmail.com

    usmcbugle85@hotmail.com Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C / Northern Virginia
    well Im a Marine so I dont really have a choice in where I live. I kinda figured Id have to find a shop where Andrew Jackson would pass me.
     
  5. spoolin@idle

    spoolin@idle D Series FTL

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    jackson or lincoln

    just depends on how much they like you and how much money you might spend at that shop
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i thought the P2T was the stock ecu for the 99-00 SIs
     
  7. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    it is but it is chiped, and obd1 in a obd2 car i guess

    atleast in MD if you fail you have to get a tune up, and spend X amount of money and then they just let you go. but the last time i went, som ricer kid worked there and you are not suposed to have any CELS and he was like your car sounds awsome and i love how it looks so stock......it was except for IHE....... and i shouldnt have passed, but i complemeted the only rice car out there and it was his...... he passed me for freee hell ya
     
  8. usmcbugle85@hotmail.com

    usmcbugle85@hotmail.com Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C / Northern Virginia
    it is. i meant to say p28. So i have an obd1 ecu in an obd2 car. Is there anyway I could hook up the stock p2t to my car and have it run well enough for them to hook up the scanner tool?
     
  9. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    pull your injectors and put in stock ones... and then you also need to make sure your turbo dosnt spool, remove the spring, or keep the wastgate open. not good, cause you can still get some boost, so drive slow
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    its gonna be difficult, but it can be done legitimately. igotnothin is pretty close in what hes saying, the only issue is that YOU are not going to be the one pulling it through the shop doors. So the person driving your car might over rev the engine, trip a CEL or just lean your ass out to the point of detonation.

    What you can do is find a run down lookin shop that say's "state inspections here" and slip a jackson ontop of the charge.

    The only other thing that i can think of is ask people on base where they get their inspection done. Take it there and hope for the best.

    I ended up having to get a friend of mines shop to do it. And that took a lot of talking because they are a super legit by the book kinda place.

    Youre only other option is an AEM ecu because if memory serves, those will display trouble codes and interface the same way a stock ECU will.
     
  11. usmcbugle85@hotmail.com

    usmcbugle85@hotmail.com Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C / Northern Virginia
    yeah i was thinking about changing the injectors and everything but then Id have to wire the stock injector clips back in. and that would be a huge pain in my ass.
     
  12. igotnothin

    igotnothin New Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    harford co MD
    or a have a good idea.. if i get an ob2 car... iwas told just take it in on a bass map for a stock car.. that can idle your injectors... either open the wastegate, and right before you get to the shop disconect a couplar so iff it dose start to build a little boost i dosent mater the car wont see it.... the will try to plug in and it wont beable to detect anything... then they will put you on the treadmill and run it and if you pass that they will let you go... you have to play dumb. like if they ask is there a reason we cant conect to the ecu.. jsut say there shouldnt be.... and see what hapens if you fail its not the end of the world, 15$$ and then you have to figure something else out.. id def try to get a stock base map and whoever is burning it tell them what you are doing so they can try and make it as inviroemntly friendly as posible, mabby sligthly higher afr.. to keep the emissions down....
    good luck and just try the base map thing
     
  13. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I know if they can't connect to your ecm here, you fail. May or may not be the same where you are from.
     
  14. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    thats the way it is most places.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page