1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Passive keyless Entry- Anybody ever install an aftermarket one?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by SlushboxTeggy, Sep 14, 2019.

  1. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    NJ to MA to CA
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    22,053
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    seems a but much... where are you going to mount that key pad? convert to push button start?

    there must be a simpler kit out there to invoke the power locks...
     
  3. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    NJ to MA to CA
    That keypad doesn't make sense to me, but figure it can be tucked somwhere.

    For the price, why not have passive entry and keyless start? I can't imagine just power locks would be significantly cheaper.

    Is it excessive for a 22 year old car? Maybe. But it's also my commuter, so some modern conveniences would be appreciated daily.
     
    BrutalB83 and E_SolSi like this.
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,921
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    This is very true, at least for me. In my RSX, adding a nice touch screen with Android Auto / Apple CarPlay, a car phone, a backup camera and replacing all the light bulbs with LEDs gives it most of the amenities of a newer car. I'm perfectly fine hanging on to it for a few more years rather than having a car payment.
     
    SlushboxTeggy and E_SolSi like this.
  5. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,503
    Likes Received:
    316
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    NJ to MA to CA
    How'd you add a touch screen?
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    34,292
    Likes Received:
    8,779
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  7. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,921
    Likes Received:
    455
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, I was just talking about a Pioneer head unit. I think mine is the NEX-2440. It doesn't have GPS built in, but it does do Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, so you can plug your phone in and use your apps on the screen to get it that way. Has HD Radio as well.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page