1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pc crashed hardcore

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by BodyDroppedNikes, Apr 20, 2005.

  1. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...
    my pc took a massive shit on me so i had to buy a new one. when i went to boot the pc up, it came up with the system file was corrupted and stupid me didnt have a backup. SO my question is, if i take and hook up that hd to my new machine as a slave, will i be able to get my files off of it? or am i just screwed?
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,017
    Likes Received:
    3,947
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    ive dont that for people before
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You may be able to, but don't count on it. Try it out, if you can't access it due to some kind of corruption, I have a program I can get to you that recovers data lost on damaged HDs. It rocks, used it my self recovered 100% of my pics, movies, music.
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    you bought a whole new computer cuz your hard drive got corrupted?

    bling bling y0
     
  5. Think

    Think Senior Member

    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Location:
    Missouri




    What program is it? i'd like to try that on a few of my old HD's.
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It's called GetDataBack.
     
  7. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Try using a Linux live CD and mounting the drive that way. I've mounted supposedly toasted drives and retrieved data that way.
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Yip that too, got my back up Knoppix 3.7 for just that reason. It's funny the live DVDs are the only Linux distributions I can get to run on my computer, I guess my hardware isn't really fully supported yet in full distros.

    You can DL the Suse live dvd or cd...http://www.novell.com/products/linuxprofes...ads/suse_linux/

    Or run up to a bookstore and pick up this months Linuxuser, it has the Knoppix liveDVD.
     
  9. BodyDroppedNikes

    BodyDroppedNikes ...PENDEJO.... VIP

    Messages:
    10,593
    Likes Received:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    caught in a mosh...



    can you send me this program or tell me where and what it is so can d/l it? i need to get some stuff off that old hd of mine. thanks dood!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page