1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phone over computer?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    Anyone use this?
    tell me about it
     
  2. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    I used to use dialpad.com for free long distance. It's not free anymore.
     
  3. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    voice over IP. you can go the vonage route or something like dialpad.com or skype
     
  4. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Vonage is cheap, but skype is better.

    VOIP... god I hate that shit. Setting it up on phone systems is an annoying drawn out process.
     
  5. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,937
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    from what i know, it doesn't make much sense unless you are calling international.
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    haha.. so did i.. me and a buddy would get shitfaced and call random #'s all night.. hahah..
     
  7. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,632
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I would recommend Skype as well, a few tech podcasts I listen to use Skype to do panels with.
     
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    a friend of mine just got that new one thats only 19 bucks a year and his works just like a normal house phone. call anywhere
     
  9. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    How reliable is it?
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well he has had it for a week now with no problems, all it is is a little chip you plug your phone into and then that goes into the port on your comp. you get to pick your on number and all, but this is a perty new system so if there are gona be any problems with it , its not old enough for them to show up yet.
     
  11. LS_VTEC

    LS_VTEC you get the BRAKE

    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    I see. I had something similiar with Comcast and my high speed internet service. The telephone plugged into the back of the modem.
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I have Vonage. Works well, easy.
     
  13. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    I rolled my own VoIP system using Asterisk. It's really nice, easy, and extremely configurable. I've got three real phones in my house that I use. We can call intra-home, or call outside the home. I have it setup right now so that when someone calls my stateside number, and I'm not at home (as defined by my AIM away message, which is figured out by bluetooth proximity) it'll call my German cell phone number, and I'll talk to them via that. I am in the middle of setting up a system to where I email my PBX a number, it dials my cell phone, then when I key-in, it dials the number I emailed or text messaged to it, then connects me.

    My girlfriend went to university in the US, so when she was there, I required a cheap sollution to call her. Since she had unlimited nights and weekends, I got a DID (Direct Inward Dial) number local to her, and she called that. When it wasn't a weekend, or a night, I called her.

    I use Teliax.com right now for stateside-outbound, and I've got several other peers all over. Teliax is probably the cheapest, and most reliable peer I've used in the past 3 years.


    @Reked: Read up on wikipedia, and read about asterisk too. VoIP is so much more than skype.


    EDIT: Wow, that was convoluted. But if anyone stands up an asterisk machine, I'm here and willing to help you with anything you may encounter.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page