1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help ID my b18. C1,c5,..??

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by Redwingf4i, Jul 20, 2017.

  1. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    32,371
    Likes Received:
    6,152
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :concur:
     
  2. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Thanks buddy. Lot of good info. Now that i think about it, I did find one of those little bulbs with the blue rubber coating in between the seats.. sounds like a CEL bulb to me. Ha.
     
  3. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Since I don't have an o2 sensor. My motor runs rich. Is There any tune that would help with that. Or do i FOR SURE have to get one (o2 sensor) rigged up somehow before tune.
     
  4. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I found a thread on someone who hardwired a secondary o2 sensor to his ecu. But it was for obd2. So 2 questions. 1.) Am I missing TWO o2 sensors?!?! [Since i have none].
    2.) Is There a way to install some wires in the correct places in my ecu harness and run them through my floor panel to the o2 sensor hole in my exhaust?
    I would literally send someone $20 If I end up with a working o2 sensor.
    [If that's legal for this site]
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  5. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    32,371
    Likes Received:
    6,152
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    so the plot thickens

    looked around a lot and found that many tuners are disabling closed loop mode and tuning full and partial throttle maps to run in open loop mode at all times rendering the O2 sensor unused
    generally in this case you would want to install a wide band O2 and a fuel air gauge showing the actual AFR

    your tuner will tune with a wide band O2 sensor anyway

    i would recommend talking to tuners in your area and getting their opinion on this

    if you are somewhere with rather steady weather without wide temp swings you may be fine without the O2

    you may need to go back a few times for some fine tuning of the fuel maps (some will do this at no charge)


    1.) no that is just for OBD-2 cars
    2.) you might not need to, reach out to tuners in your area and get their recommendations, if they tune open loop and disable closed loop anyway then the O2 will not be used anyway
     
  6. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I live in Texas. Home of the fluctuating weather patterns.
    But I'll talk to the tuner and see what they think. Big big help man.
     
  7. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    If the tuner decides the better route is an o2 sensor and I attempt to wire one myself. Is this the info I need.
    This would be wiring an o2 as if it were a wideband. Is that possible? Or correct thinking? Screenshot_20170804-234110.png And second on this lower pic. Slot 14 is primAry heated o2. Could I buy a 3 or 4 wire universal o2 and ground a wire, run power(12v) to one and then the other to this number 14 slot?? Screenshot_20170805-001150.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  8. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    the p72 comment was going by title on identify my b18 and it was stated it was vtec, idk man take it to a tuner or a import shop if not mechanically inclined enough to figure it out, it needs to be tuned and probably has other misc isses that wont show until ecu is reading live data correctly , this is why you dont buy peoples swap nightmares, we will get it figured out though but ecu is priority #1
     
  9. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I don't mind getting it tuned. That's my goal. I just don't want to get excited Bout dyno day! Shell out 300 for dyno 400 for hondata just for the tuner to tell me this isn't going to work right without o2. But looks like my only choice. I appreciate y'all guys taking the time to help. I get overwhelmed reading old threads with non working links and expired pictures
     
  10. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    also b20v with a p72 is perfectly fine, yes fuel maps are SLIGHTLY leaner in certain areas but not enough to cause any problems in the very least if anything would make more power stock honda maps are too rich anyways
     
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    and yes you need a o2 the ecu needs it to make a/f corrections, but welcome to the game lol youre going to spend 300 getting it tuned and a few hundred on dyno to see it makes under 200whp lol and its all good man the info is still here and we are happy to help people wanting to learn and trying to fix their stuff
     
  12. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    So pretty much. There's no way to wire an o2 on your own? [o2 to ecu]
    So im left with, ripping out the wiring harness and putting another one in, all because i need the o2 harness wires.. What harness should i go with. Gsr harness because of the motor? Not del sol?. And should I cut my losses and sell the car. [Which would break my heart]
     
  13. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    any usdm obd1 honda harness d/b will work fine, and yes the wires can be ran, this is one of those things man really cant diagnose without standing there looking at it , possibility they have the o2 sensor wire and plug hidden where ever they are tucking the rest of the stock harness if they didnt go for a aftermarket one
     
  14. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    I've been reading And it seems as though everyone's saying [ on old threads] that with no o2 sensor my car should be smoking. Which it's not. Like at all. I do know for sure there is no o2. And the only indication is bad gas mileage and that i visually saw that it was missing. So is there a small chance previous owner might have some kind of tune or a "no o2" map on this ecu? Just trying to figure out if my cars ok to drive. Saw something about my car might be in limp mode and could mess up the timing?? Seems to be decently powerful and vtec still kicks in.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  15. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    32,371
    Likes Received:
    6,152
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    contact a tuner
    schedule some time
    get it tuned / verify the tune

    if you are not experiencing a very low RPM limit with no power then you are not in limp mode
     
    dilbeckskate and Redwingf4i like this.
  16. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    4,115
    Likes Received:
    373
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    limp mode wont go above 3k rpm
     
  17. Redwingf4i

    Redwingf4i Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Doing some Prepping the car for dyno research. Do y'all think the bung I have coming off this no name header is ok enough for the tuner to use for wideband. Or do i need another one thats bigger or better accessible?
    20170804_161519.jpg 20170804_161640.jpg
     
  18. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    32,371
    Likes Received:
    6,152
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    that should be fine
     
  19. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    To wire up the O2....you need the pins that are used to set wires into the corresponding ECU plug. Get that plug from a junk yard (cut 4-6" pigtails) and you'll have a bunch of pins off pigtail ends to solder to you're wiring from the O2 (or VTEC or Knock or IAB's or etc.)

    Pics of wiring looks kinda like ffsquad.net If so...I trust the info. They got info on removing and installing these pins too. Lots of good info there.

    Get the CEL bulb working. That's priority IMO. Talk to a tuner. Help him understand the situation and this unknown chip. Many tuners don't want your car gremlins to show up with you to your appointment. They want all that crap taken care of. Hopefully you can find a more sympathetic tuner.
     
    dilbeckskate and Redwingf4i like this.
  20. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,532
    Likes Received:
    207
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    The O2 wiring could still be attached at the ECU plug. If so, track it down and see where it goes. May be less work than I first thought.
     
    Redwingf4i likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page