1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help me figure out which ECU and Harnes to use

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by vadimqwe, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    I have a 95 civic which is obd1 and i want to swap b18b from a 99 or up integra. I think its obd2b or obd2a im not sure.. So do i use everything from obd2 (ecu, harness, distributor,ETC) to swap the engine? Also do i just have to swap the engine harness or the whole car harness? if thats the harnesss i need to use, will the rest of my obd1 harness plug in to obd2 ecu? I did a search and read the stickies but all it said was search or it didnt have my specific problem... Thanks guys
     
  2. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    They make conversion harnesses that can be purchased for the OBD swap. Rywire.com has them, and I think Monotech (a member on here) has harnesses.
     
  3. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    the harness there are way over priced, so which harness works for my swap?
     
  4. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    the 96-99 integras are obd2a, 00-01 integras are obd2b
    the easiest way to do this swap is to just use the integra engine harness that comes with the engine, it will plug right into your obd1 civic's chassis harness at the shock towers, there may be just 1 thing that you have to change in the wiring and that's just a maybe, some obd2 engines came with a 3 wire iacv (or iac or eacv, whatever you want to call it). In order to get the iac to work properly you may have to change 1 or 2 wires; either way there is a writeup in the refrence section, but only if you need it.

    for an ecu just buy and obd1 integra ecu, it will run the engine correctly and plug right into your car. they can be had for under 100 on ebay or wherever, part numbers pr4, and p75 but make sure they are obd1 since the pr4 was 0,1,and 2 as well the p75 can be 1 or 2
     
  5. D16SiHatch

    D16SiHatch New Member

    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    pr4 is only 0 and 1 :p

    so as he said the easiest thing to do would be to get either an obd1 pr4 or a p75.
     
  6. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    eh, can't be right all the time, at least I got it right for the obd1 part.
     
  7. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    thank you so much, I finally know what I need.
    Also, can I use jumper cable for obd2 integra ecu. The reason I want to use it because i already have it and i dont want to get another one. Or would it be easier to chip my po6 ECU since its already non-vtec.
    thanks again
     
  8. hondacivicdx92

    hondacivicdx92 Hamby

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Location:
    Indiana
    I have a P75 ecu that I will let go for $80 shipped. PM me if your interested.
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
  10. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    thanks guys for your help, so i would be better of to have the obd1 ecu insted of using a jumper harness for obd2. or should i chip my po6 ecu since its already nonvtec
     
  11. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    better off using the obd1 ecu, sell the obd2 one to make up the difference.
    you can chip the p06 if you want, but it will be cheaper to get the p75 or pr4
     
  12. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    ok thanks, so just to make everything clear, i need obd engine harness, plug it in into my obd1 shocktower harness, get obd1 ecu and the rest is plug and play?
     
  13. H22Coupe93

    H22Coupe93 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    use the engine harness from the b series u will have to re wire the distributor the rest plug n play and what ecu to use i have always run a p 28 thats the best ecu it will run anything
     
  14. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    why would i have to rewire the distributor if the harness is obd2 and distributor is the same...
    i dont have the distributor now so should i get obd1 distributor?
     
  15. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    No, don't worry about what he said, if you get obd1 distributor and try to wire it into the obd2 harness it will be a mess, just use the obd2 dizzy, obd2 harness, the harness will plug directly into your car without modification, and then use the obd1 ecu.
    easiest way to do it.
    I just did one yesterday, obd2 engine with harness/mounts/axles/linkage etc. from 99 GS into a a 94 dx hatchback civic, dropped right in, used an old integra ecu and it fired right up, no modifications at all.
     
  16. cjvictoria

    cjvictoria New Member

    Messages:
    2,525
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    N. Chuck, SC

    yoooo... whats the werd on the 4 door gsr? u still gots?
     
  17. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    Wrong, please do not post wrong information especially to someone looking for CORRECT information
    your responce is vague to say the least, I can think of 4 types of US b series harnesses and another 4 JDM, same with distributors
    and a p28 wont run anything but a d16z6 CORRECTLY, you can use it to start and drive just about any obd1 civic or integra if you have to, but the fuel maps and ignition timing as well as redline and vtec engagement paranmeters are wrong for all other engines.
    I don't mean to bash, but I can't stand completely wrong information.
     
  18. welfare

    welfare Ancient Member

    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    PM sent
     
  19. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    thanks for clarification, i figured everything out
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page