1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pm6 ecu to vtec?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Taco15, Jan 11, 2005.

  1. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    :unsure: sorry if im interrupting guys. Alright i just registered and have been browsing everywhere for info, i had my d16z6 engine replaced by a d15b vtec motor. But the guy never hooked up the vtec solenoid. my ecu went bad so he gave me a pm6 ecu out of an 89 crx. I need to hook up my vtec solenoid but cant find the wires. can anyone of you experts help. ive been working on my "crex" for 2 years now and want it finished :lol: please help.
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i split your topic off the other thread because it has absolutely NOTHING to do with the thread. please don't do this again.

    anyway, to answer your question- the crx ecu is not a vtec ecu. it will never activate vtec. and there are no wires to connect it to because they don't exist. On top of that, the crx ecu is obd 0. your motor is obd1. your car is obd0. you want to run an obd1 ecu on the obd1 motor. thus, you need to run a convertor harness from obd0-> obd1 to plug in one of the following obd1 ecus:

    you want a p28 from the d16z6 or the p08 from the jdm d15b
     
  3. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    heyman thanks for the info and soory for posting it in the blue. it was my first time so. :blink: but any way i 'preciate your info and will definitly get the right ecu. i stll dont understand the odb1 and stuff. anyway, thanks man. :worthy:
     
  4. Jim Truett

    Jim Truett Senior Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003


    It can be done. It simply requires converting the ECU to VTEC. You basically convert the PM6 to it's automatic counterpart, the PS9. You would then need to run the PGMFI one wire PM6 VTEC code. You need to research at PGMFI and Turboedit
     
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    ya it sounds easy but its not running a p08 is alot easier than doing a conversion
     
  6. Punisher

    Punisher Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Your OBD1 D15B VTEC distributor will not work with the OBD0 PM6 ecu, so go get the P08 or P28 and save yourself from a migraine later on.
     
  7. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    hey guys thanks alot for all the info. When i got this car it was literally a frankenstein car. the dizzy however i have to go look at. The honda tech here in tally .FL. said that it did not belong to the d16z6 the car came with, but would still work. Hes the same guy with the "SRX-1" 10 sec 500+ hp car. Hes was on the cover of tuner mag i thinkl. Either way right now im working on getting another crx with a gsr motor in it. Again thanks for info :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page