1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pos tranny ??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by blasterman87, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    got my b16 tranny running today, leaky cam seals.. tranny goes into all gears but just grinds in 2,3, and 5th.. im bout to give up on this pos... its a y1 tranny with lsd is it fried or what? and whats my options for fixing it?
     
  2. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Can you get into all 6 gears while the engine is off?
     
  3. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    yes. it goes into all 6 gears when running to, it just grinds when its in. i think im going to end up buying a whole new engine/tranny, i can use my lsd for the new tranny and have a spare engine.
     
  4. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    So, it grinds while in gear, or grinds when you put it in gear?
     
  5. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    put it in gear, let out the clutch and grinds.. does not move just kkkkkkkkkgkkggkgkgk a hell of a noise... along with the fact that the damn thing idles at 2.5k rpm and cant figure that out either, the cables set right and vac hoses are right to. i need to find a cliff to push it off of
     
  6. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Sure hope you got a warranty on the engine/transmission when you bought it. It could be either.

    Sounds like quite a bit is broken in there, either that or the conversion kit isn't working properly.

    My money would be on the engine and transmission being toasted.
     
  7. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    how could the engine be fried? it runs fine except it idles really high... and its mine i traded my quad for it. its got leaky cam seals, could that cause an air leak making it idle high? and when i say leaky i mean one has a hole in it i think it just rotted from setting.. the engine is a 90 so its 20yrs old
     
  8. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    497
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    You should not worried about a high-idle, that can be fixed, just search for it.

    Bleed the hydro to cable conversion kit. Just do it.
     
  9. blasterman87

    blasterman87 New Member

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    i do not have a conversion kit its all cable. and i think its y1 but its cable and lsd for sure i put it in myself
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page