possible b16a SIR1 Obd0 swap questions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

That Guy

Hi. I'm new to Hondaswap but this looks like the best place to ask my question. ;)

Here is situation:

I have a del sol Si (d16z6) with a completely stock engine bay.

Not too long ago, I happened across someone selling a bunch of his older project cars because he decided to buy an NSX. I managed to smooth talk him ;) into selling me a 1990 civic Si with a perfectly running B16a SIR1 Obd0 swap under the hood. It has aftermarket cams, cam gears, hydro tranny, ITR throttle body/intake manifold and is powered by the Obd0 PW0 Ecu (I don't know if anything was done to the ECU).

The car is very fun to drive. It certainly gets people where they need to go :p but now I have been thinking about swapping the engine with my del sol (and putting the Z6 into the '90 hatch). I know Obd1 > Obd0 is generally a bad idea, but since I already have a hydro tranny and it's the complete swap already running, I was wondering what it would take to transfer it over to my del sol and what I can expect? Would I just be facing wiring problems?

I've always wanted a del sol VTEC (or del sol with a B18c) but I found a very well cared for Si so I bought that instead and want to oneday swap in a bigger engine. I know speed demons will say to leave it in the hatch, but I'm not trying to be fast. I am trying to fix up my del sol. ^_^

Money-wise, less than 500$ isn't really a problem. Anything over that would be hard though. I can't afford to buy an Obd2 B16a (or any B series+) swap and I can't sell the hatch because I need the back seat.

I'm definately willing to do an Obd0 to Obd1 conversion and vice-versa if someone can give me some pointers. Any questions, advice, reference links, etc are very much appreciated.