Possible swaps in 91 dx HB for around 1500

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Bri94lst

ok guys im getting a 91 dx hb..only problem is the motor is toast....so heres my problem. I have 1500 to spend for a motor for this. What are some possible swaps i can do (ill be doing this myself). Would i need new motor mounts/shift linkage for a d16y8? D16z6?? I also heard the ZC is a direct drop in and bolts up to the d series tranny?? Sorry guys im new to D series

The D's work on the same principal as the B's. Anything D series will bolt onto any other D out there. And as far as I know hte ZC is a higher performance D16 I believe. The ZC comes in two variants a SOHC and a DOHC. D16A6 is an 86-89 Integra motor it fits in your car. The main thing to think about is DPFI... you must first swap from DPFI to MPFI. Just a thought hope I helped. Oh wait there are circumstances where you can put a VTEC d series head on a non-VTEC d series block, not sure whatis involved. Happy motoring

Originally posted by Vtec Andy.....@Nov 28 2003, 03:01 PM
ls motor from teg, around 1500 for it

Are you including the price for Mounts and linkages?

I say drop a D16z6 in that what i have and with the extra cash you can add an aftermarket cam like a zex 59300 or crower stage2 with some basic bolt ons....dont need new mounts either. but you have a dx so your gonna have to do dx to si wiring.

Originally posted by 199IntegraBuildUpH22A3@Nov 28 2003, 01:04 PM
D16A6 is an 86-89 Integra motor it fits in your car.

Stick to the tegs 1991intergabuild. :newbie:

This will not work. Well it could fit and work if you piss some money into an old engine with not a lot of hp. It will not bolt right in, the 86-87 use a vaccum advance dizzy, and you will have to monkey around with mounts to get it to bolt in. It is NOT identical to the zc, close but not the same.