1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible to get female vtec wires seperate?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by boostpyro90, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Im embarking on a gsr swap soon and im starting to gather my parts now. Im just buying the gsr long block for now (which doesnt include the ecu or the gsr harness). Anyway, im getting the obd1 jumper harness and vtec subharness. But id hate to buy an entire gsr harness just to chop it up for the female vtec plugs to wire to the vtec subharness. Is there someonewhere i can get these seperate? Is this something Rywire provides as an option for the vtec harness?
     
  2. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    You can use other plugs like one from the IACV or the air temp sensor, or the purge valve... The one for the single wire on the vtec you will need from a vtec harness as there are no others that will work.. But some of the subharness that they sell come with a harness all the way out to the vtec and plugs right in..
     
  3. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Good to know. So can you just get those plugs seperate? ...or I guess then I could get a cheap b18 nonvtec harness and cut the iacv, temp sensor, and purge valve? That would be sweet...
     
  4. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    You will only need 1-two wire plug and a one wire plug. Just go to a junkyard and find a vtec motor it could be a accord, integra, or civic, and just cut the two plugs..
     
  5. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Gotcha. Since vtec motors aren't very easy to find in a junkyard here in Idaho, could I even get a civic vtec harness (I think those are cheapest) for the vtec, pressure switch and knock sensor? ...basically are all vtec, pressure switch and knock sensor plugs the same on all vtec motors?
     
  6. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    I would say yes but maybe no on the knock sensor in the accords...
     
  7. boostpyro90

    boostpyro90 New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Thanks alot. Ill keep my eye open for a D16 civic harness. I talked to a guy that said you can get the plugs from the acura dealership... but I havent checked yet.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page