1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power on

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by xj0hnx, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    So it is done...

    Q6600
    BFG 680i LT SLi
    2x2GB OCZ Gold Edition
    BFG 8800GT 512MB
    WD 150GB Raptor
    20x Dual Layer SATA MadDog DVDROM
    Antec TruPower 650w
    Antec 900 case

    The part I hate...
    [​IMG]

    Holy shit it works!!!
    [​IMG]

    Sitting pretty...
    [​IMG]

    The beast, and it's little brother...
    [​IMG]

    So I got it all together, it installed Vista 64 seemingly no problems, went to reboot to complete installation, and it looped, boot into Vista, reboot computer, boot into Vista, reboot computer....maddening. So after talking to BFG, we decided to reflash my BIOS, now to track down a....floppy. Get the BIOS reflash, same thing, try different SATA connections, reinstall Vista, nothing. One guy finally ask how much memory I have installed, I tell em 4 GB, he says try it with only 2, then update Vista, and install the other 2. Booyah. Booted right into Vista, finished install, and everything is smokin'
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    why a floppy? boot off a USB memory stick. thats how we flash new machines.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Didn't even think about that, but it was fun anyway :) I haven't used a floppy since I flashed my ATi X800.
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    w00t

    Very nice! I'll take pics of my setup and post up when the replacement water parts come in.
     
  5. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Asus's EZ-Flash works really well for me.
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Don't you have to be in the OS for those though?
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Mine works straight from the BIOS- of course, it's Asus proprietary. Other board manufacturers have their own setups.

    Asus allows you to basically hit a key sequence at POST or enter the flash utility through the BIOS screen, then load the ROM file from whatever media you choose- floppy, USB drive, CD, whatever.
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ahh, I have something like that too, unfortunately I didn't until I updated the BIOS lol.
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    that works in windows. so after you install your os, and you ownlo9ad the new bios, you can just flash it right there in the desktop
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :shrug:

    I've never used anything by BFG.

    :shrug:

    His or mine? Mine is definitely OS independent.
     
  12. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    the one i posted.
     
  13. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    winflash ftl. ive used it a few times and most of the time it worked well, except when windows had incompatiable driver and it crashed. flashing bios + os crash = paper weight.

    usb boot or bootable cd-rom ftw!!
     
  14. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    :shrug: i used it on my new build with 0 issues
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page