1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

powered sub into a reciever with sub output

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Seany-izzle, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    So i briefly asked this before..

    I have a Sony powered sub, it connects to my stereo with an rca type connector. If i were to buy a reciever that has sayy 200w sub output on the back, can i plug my powered sub in and will it still work ok?

    OH and one more thing... if a reciever has two hdmi inputs and one output, the output will put the video on the tv and sound as well.. or will the sound be limited to only the stereo speakers? Will i be able to just turn the stereo speakers down and the tv volume up when i just want to watch cable?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2006
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    powered subs do NOT use RCA connectors. It's a digital coax cable, but it looks similar to an rca, but its not the same size nor will it fit in an rca plug.
    it's also directional. Make sure you have the cable in the receiver the right way.

    A sub output is NOT powered. it is pre-amp circuitry. Why a receiver would say 200w on it is beyond me. sounds like a POS of some sort trying to be cool....


    hdmi carries full digital audio (all channels, be it 2 or 7.1)

    I have my system set up like this:


    dvd player -> tv via hdmi
    tv out to receiver via optical digital audio out

    I don't have a cable box or satellite as i use my tv's hidef tuner.

    this way i can watch tv normally, through a dvd normally, or turn off the tv speakers (theres an option on my tv) and turn on the reciver.

    the only draw back to this, is that i can't listen to music without the tv on (ie, cd in dvd player) it needs to pass through.

    I could get another cable for audio from the dvd player's optical out to my receiver's 2nd opitcal in, but its not worth it for me... i never play music in there.
     
  3. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    The cheaper subs do have analog RCA lines feeding them. My crappy Onkyo sub does.
     
  4. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    If the receiver has a powered output for the sub, it should be some sort of spring terminal / screw terminal. (Not RCA / D. Coax out)

    And you "could" perhaps run that into your powered sub's "high-level input" if it had one. But you wouldn't want to.

    As far as "RCA" vs. "Digital Coax", from what I've seen a "digital coax" cable has more shielding. So its better to use a "D.Coax" cable for long distances (over 3ft), but an "RCA" cable is the same fucking thing. Every Digital Coaxial output I've run into will accept an RCA connector, I haven't seen any magical outputs with smaller connectors.
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    dude, its not even close! lol

    a sub cable will not plug into an RCA jack, and it's directional on top of it
     
  6. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    fuck it, ill just get a all in one. Im on a budget, imnot an audiophyle and hell... in my car im satisfied with the stock speakers (with tweeters) and my alpine head unit, sounds fine to me. I was going to buy a reciever, use my powered sub, and buy two front speakers and be done.. eh whatever.

    so the hdmi thing.. PS3->tv, dvr->tv then tv->reciever. correct?
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werdL

    :wtf2:

    I am an audiophile, but I almost never listen to music at home.... so I just spend money on the car stereo. The home system is just for watching TV and movies every now and then, and I can't afford what I really want to buy right now.
     
  8. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    Yeah, im not planning on using it for music, just tv, dvd's, and ps3. If i get a all-in-one im not going to even use the rear's until i move out. There is no good place to put them, hence the reciever and satellite speakers. Id like to get the Bose 2.1 but the prices of recievers with hdmi's is too much for me..

    Sony - 900W 5.1-Channel Home Theater System with AM/FM Tuner - Black - HT-DDW900
    Why? Because its cheap and offers 2in/1out hdmi ports.
     
  9. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    B, Jesus H Christ man. Its not directional, I dont even know wtf you're talking about and I KNOW its not directional.

    The standard for SPDIF calls for either:
    A) a coaxial cable with a BNC connector(or RCA)
    B) an optical connection (Toslink)

    AES/EBU is another standard (very similar) which uses 3-pin XLR connections.

    Show me a SPDIF connection that doesn't use: RCA, BNC, Toslink, or XLR.
     
  10. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    my sony powered sub has a rca type connection, but I found these neat rca to type-f connectors so I could use a 20' long coax
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :werd:

    I haven't seen one. The most common ones are digital coax and Toslink anyway.
     
  12. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  13. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Well, for one thing that looks like an RCA. Two, its bullshit because the thing has shielding at both ends connected and you just dont hook up the grounding dongle. Not very directional now is it.
     
  14. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    my sub cable has two rca STYLE males with absolutely no arrows. if that helps...
     
  15. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,151
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    B an rca will fit on a sub woofer output, and it will work fine.
    I would recommend a sub cable so it doesn't get any interference especially if you are running the power cable next to it.
     
  16. YouKnowWhoIBee

    YouKnowWhoIBee my avatar is better.

    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    I need to know if they make one end for toslink and other digital coaxil. My receiver has 1 toslink and it is being used. So my xbox 360 has toslink and i have a free digital audio input :) Sorry in advance but it is pertaining to the topic.

    *edit- RCA will work for digital coaxil. Same plug... 100% positive because i am using that now,
     
  17. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    WTF is your question again? You only have 1 input and you want to use it twice? Or you have two digital inputs (one optical, one coaxial - which I've never heard of before)?
     
  18. Seany-izzle

    Seany-izzle New Member

    Messages:
    7,738
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    In a fucking house.
    Only has one toslink input, but since the xbox has a toslink output, he needs to convert it to a coaxial since this toslink is takin.
     
  19. TommyTheCat

    TommyTheCat Gonzo Scientist

    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  20. 97hatch

    97hatch ?

    Messages:
    1,695
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Anderson IN
    wow b you just told me how to fix my hum and i used to work for the cable company and couldnt find the grounding issue on my own
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page