1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prelude VTEC problem

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by gleuen034, May 12, 2005.

  1. gleuen034

    gleuen034 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    I recently installed an H22a into my '93 prelude SI. I was running on a p14 but i recently bought a p13. I am now getting flashed a 22 when the vtec pressure switch is not plugged in and when the switch is plugged in, the check engine light comes on constantly with no error code. A couple questions...The light blue wire comes into the switch, the blk/red wire leaves and is grounded right? How can I determine wether it is the fault of the ECU or the pressure switch, or something else entirely. Thank you.
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    get a helms and check voltages

    i don't know the wiring off hand...

    google, or check autozone.com free repair section for the wiring diagrams to confirm its hooked up right...
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Yeah, the Red/Black wire goes into plug A26 (Ground)

    the lt. Blue one goes into D6...thats the most i can tell you...
     
  4. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Just ground the damn wire.

    Faulty wiring will give you a code, but the blue wire is the one the ECU is concerned with. I grounded mine within six inches of the plug. The blue wire should be ran properly to the ECU.
     
  5. gleuen034

    gleuen034 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    The wire is grounded, I was just double-checking. So when it is hooked up, I should assume my VTEC is working and that I have a different electrical problem? My car did work well when I did not have my p13 ECU in, when i had the p14. Thanks for any help offered.
     
  6. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    do you hear the change after 6500 RPMs??

    If so i wouldnt worry too much about it if you arent running in limp mode.
     
  7. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    When you jump the service connector, the engine light should come on solid. No light = 0, which is a bad ECU. Blinking lights are codes. If the service connector is not jumped, then a solid light means there is a code to be read.

    I just thought I'd clear that up, if you were confused. If not, then disregard.
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    And if you dont know where the service connector is, it is behind the center console (radio) on the driver's side...its the 2 wire connector closest to the driver's side (Took me forever to find the thing and it was right infront of my face)
     
  9. gleuen034

    gleuen034 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    alright, thanks a bunch, i didnt know that when it came on solid it meant nothing was wrong, thanks
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page