Price reasonable for swap?-> my car issue.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

meshca

So i finaly reached a descent shop who do swaps, installs, builds, etc etc.
He has a b16 already.
So..the theory goes: i give him my car, he does the install, etc etc.

Now if i want a b16 all motor, it's 4000$ (with 210hp) ..that's pretty damn expensive in my books, but he's got a good rep and the motor is good. I figure i can get a b16 for around 2k/+another 1.5k for internals+my install= saving 500$.. but i'm a newb at installs..soooo 3.5k v 4k is not bad

This is where it gets better/worse

If i want a b16 boosted (350hp), then that would cost me 3200$ instead of 4k$ to build the motor. The turbo will be a top mount turbo with a custom turbo manifold. The price of the turbo will vary depending on wth i want..so +3500$ as an estimate. Total: $6700

I have enough money to do both in this case. The question is: Is this guy ripping me off on the setup, is it moderetly priced, or is it a good deal?

I asked him for a quote that included: tein basic suspension/ exaust upgrade.
I gave him my price range, and i asked him to come up wiht an exact quote for the package for b16boosted/ and b16 all motor.

I'll know by tuesday at latest,
and the information i'm finding out will be more specific as well. :
-WHAT is he building on the all motor.
-what kind of pistons,rods,valves,retainers,cams
-what kind of head work/ what kind of machining(if any) o.s. or st. rings. is it gonna be stroking or just reg.
-what comp. ratio is he gonna be giving me?
list parts and brands for both setups
For the comp ratio i think 10.4-10.6 is good, the lower the easier the tunning's going to be if it's boosted.

Anything on this subject is welcomed, even flaming =D
363ahhhhh.gif

Last edited:
well if hes gona back his work up and thats whp that your gona get for that price and the price includes motor and everything,,,dude jump all over it thats a great price