1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

printing from dos cmd prompt

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Jan 20, 2005.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    running ping tests, getting over 50% loss
    cable techs are coming today and i want to print my results to show them

    anyone know how to copy or print results from a dos window?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    can't directly.

    alt print screen it
     
  3. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
  4. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    i think the link you provided is for when you use the print command is dos to print a file, not for printing the actual text in the dos screen...

    and for some reason my print screen never works for me god damn it...


    edit: not worth a new thread but there's a d17a1 on ebay for 400 bucks... not sure why anyone would want it but thats cheap for a brand new motor...
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Easy.

    ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx > somefile.txt <-- saves everything to a text file instead of to your screen

    or

    ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx > prn: <-- prints your output instead of showing it on the screen

    :)
     
  6. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Me = pwned by Calesta. Oh well, at least I tried, unlike B. :bo:
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    :)

    Gotta love those old DOS days. I still use it to dump directory listings to text files.

    That's a good way to use a network printer from the DOS prompt though.

    recked- if you want to dump to a text file and then print later after you've read through the results, you can just use this command to print:

    copy whatever.txt prn

    That'll shoot it to your printer, and it works for any file that can be read in DOS without some other program.
     
  8. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    thank you everyone for your help...

    tech just came and left
    they added a splitter to the line but it didn;t help much

    the problem according to them is that we have TOO much of an incoming signal...

    they like to see a signal around 0 with an allowance of -5 to +5, our signal was something to the effect of 16, after the splitter was added its still at 9, and they say its just too much...

    if we had tv's or something it would help eat up the signal...

    does anyone know what value this signal is measured in? lol
    i understand -5 to +5 and 16 and 9, but no idea what value is being measured...
    edit: thanks calesta for the help
    and thanks dohcvtec, i searched before posting and got the same type of results, lol
     
  9. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT



    I believe the unit of menasure is dBmV = decibel millivolt
    it the atenuation of the signal.

    to drop your signal even lower just get another 1GHz splitter that drops the signal 3.5dB and split the signal going to your cable modem again if that's really the problem

    and as far as getting 50% packet loss, a ping test isn't the only data you should look at, you should do a few trace routes (tracert) to a destination and take a look and see were the packets are getting dropped.

    A nice place to do some testing http://network-tools.com/
     
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    So.. there's... not enough attenuation???

    I thought the less attenuation the better?
     
  11. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I was always under the same impression, I believe the input signal to my modem is +48dB , I'll have to check when I get home tho

    ---

    Well I checked and my signal is ,
    downstream: Power Level -4 dBmV
    upstream: Power Level 48 dBmV
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so the signal is getting thinned out too much then?


    had to bust out dictionary.com for attenuation, you smart fuckers
    lol
     
  13. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    lol

    maybe the first mistake was actually believing what the cable guys told you. :p
     
  14. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    lol, i don't believe them...

    they tried telling me the lines were fine and it was an internal problem with my network...

    did ping tests to modem and router, and determined they were fine, and my network was fine...
    so only after i could prove it wasn't on my end would they send someone out here...
     
  15. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Yeah. They automatically assume that the general public is too stupid to set up and operate a network properly.

    That happened to me one time and I got so mad I told them to have someone bring me the diagnostic tools and I'd do it myself. They sent a tech over.
     
  16. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT


    actually the correct context of this word would be
    to lessen the amount, force, magnitude, or value of : WEAKEN
     
  17. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    :)
     
  18. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    alright, so i called my tech support, the guy that set up this network before i started here...

    we ran some tests, return time to router, and cable modem of less than 10ms, so we determined the problem was outside the building...
    had the tech come this morning, he put this splitter on the line, said it was INDEED a problem with THEIR line, and they would send someone to check the line...

    so the guy came, checked the line, decided it was fine and left without saying anything to me... so now i calll them back and they try to tell me again that its a problem with my network...

    so i tell them the tech was here this morning and told me my shit is fine and it was their problem, and the guy on the phone just says, nope, there's nothing wrong...

    what the fuck, so now another asshole is gonna come out here tomorrow, and the circus starts all over again
     
  19. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  20. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    lol, good idea, but uhm... i wasn't too nice so a recording prob wouldn't be in my favor on this one...

    called back my tech and he said to just send him what i told him over the phone in an e-mail and he will get it taken care of... i guess he has a connection...

    but thanks for the tip...

    calesta = skoal... always there in a pinch
    lol
    thanks again
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page