1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problem with 97 prelude to 95 honda swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by scorpionzzzz, Aug 17, 2004.

1. scorpionzzzz

scorpionzzzz Junior Member

a friend of mine is dropped a 97 prelude (jdm h22a) into a 95 honda..everything is hooked up..but the car won't start..there is combustion..if he cranks it, it tries to turn over but it doesn't quite make it..could someone please know what the problem could possibly be..?

thanx

2. dohcvtec_accord

dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

Air, fuel, compression, spark.

I'd check to see that you're getting adequate fuel delivery, and then check the spark plugs and/or distributor to make sure they're working right.

3. scorpionzzzz

THANK YOU, I'm going to relay the message

4. scorpionzzzz

Sorry guys I'm new to this..and I'm really confused..There is fuel, there is spark and the distributor is working fine. However, it is still not starting. Next question, after reading some of the questions and answers on this site, I went and checked the ecm which as it turns out is a POA which doesn't have VTEC, where as the engine F22B1 is VTEC..so now I figure we have to change the ecm, since the 97 prelude is obd2 can we still use the p13 ecm or do we have to use the p5p ecm? and do we still have to switch pins a6 and a11?

5. sleepn_accord

sleepn_accord Senior Member

There is a simple solution..sort of.

First things first:

1) You must be using the f22's engine harness attached to the prelude engine with

2) You must have an OBD-1 ecu - P13

So you have to remove the h22's harness and add the a) vtec solenoid plug, B) vtec pressure switch, c) extend the f22's oil pressure switch, d) knock sensor to the f22's harness (if you wanna make it pretty).

Next, get a set of obd-1 h22 injectors or rewire...