1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

problems w/ the computer

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by eg6sir, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    lately i've been having problems w/ my internet.. i had google chrome and firefox both installed.. for a while they both worked perfectly fine .. but recently chrome wont load any pages and firefox will, but it freezes up so bad i have to close it w/ task manager... here is my Hijack This log, hopefully it helps because this shit is getting annoying
    Webroot w/ Spysweeper for virus protection..
    Malware Bytes scans and they come up clean..
    ran CCleaner

     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    only thing webroot ever finds is cookies..
     
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    try turning off webroot.

    also try uninstalling and reinstalling both crome and firefox. as well as java.

    also, nothing really looks out of place to me in that log.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i've uninstalled and reinstalled both chrome and firefox and no difference.. so i uninstalled chrome once again since i cant use it at all.. i read that w/ the newest version of FF people also have the problem w/ it freezing up so i uninstalled it to and installed an older version.. seems to be working better
     
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    Two things. 1) check in control panel Internet settings connections tab then advanced make sure there is no proxy listed ( unless you use one) and check automatically configure settings. 2) start run "runas administrator cmd" open command prompt. Type in "netsh winsock reset" without the quotes. Exit.


    Get another scanner. Avg free, kaspersky, or even avast. Download and install. Reboot into safe mode without networking and run all your scan and clean crap. Oh and remove those toolbars you don't need.
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    i had the memory leak issue in FF as well. firefox 3.6.6-7 is a pos.

    get 3.6.8 just released today and seems to be a ton better.
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i had 3.6.8 and it was the one acting up.. since going back to 3.5, its been better..
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    3.6.8 has been fine for me all day.

    .7 and .6 would 'load up' after about an hour (drop down menus were the first to go)
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    when it would freeze up on me is when i would go to post a reply in a thread.. as soon as i hit post quick reply, it would freeze up.. several other forums did the same thing
     
  10. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    now i'm getting Window Explorer has encountered a problem and has to shut down..
     
  11. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    Boot the computer up in safe mode and try the browsers. This might be a deeper issue
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page