Problems with H23 motor 92 lude

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Jason-K

Hey whats up Im Jason, Im pretty new at imports and stuff but I've always like them, I have a 92 Prelude si h23 and it has a lot of miles (195k) and the I will start the motor and it will start up and then after about 2-3 minutes it will bog down to about 600 rpms and then it will go back up to 1200 rpms and it will do this every couple of seconds.

Then after that goes on for a couple of minutes it will stop. My friend Nick also has a Prelude and he said that his Lude did the same thing and what the problem most likely was is the Bypass valve like the sensor could be dirty or something???

Also when I first start it up it will idle at 2000k for a while, is that normal?

It is blowing white smoke out the exhaust so what do you think is wrong with it? I know it could be a cracked head gasket and worn rings but is there a possibility that it could be something else? (How could I check if the head gasket is cracked?)

And if the case is that it may even be head damage, would I be better off going with an h22 head vtec? And if so How hard is that swap and what is all required?

Finally, If I were to rebuild the motor, what would be the minimum things I could replace to have it run better? Rings, Gaskets, Bearings etc...

Sorry about all the questions, I have used the search buttons and found alot of helpful threads on the vtec swap and stuff, but I would like to have my own thread on this because I didnt find anything about my problem with my lude like the bypass or anything.

Thanks alot
-Jason