1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems with my swap:(

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 88honda1333, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Hey everyone. i ran across a good deal on a 5-speed 88 honda civic hatch dx about a month ago, so i bought it.well it came with a dpfi 1.5 so i thought i would go ahead and throw in a obd1 mpfi 1.5 from a 92 civic cause i had it laying around the shop, well i bought a jumper harness for it, ran all the wires got a ecu. well it seemed to be going well the car crank first try and all, well i backed it out of the shop and it did fine. well as soon as you put it in first gear and try to go it trys to die and wont go.:mad: well i retimed it and ran back over my wiring work and everything is fine. at this point im lost.:confused: so any help would be great.
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  3. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Yes I did. But I have just now learned that the computer I bought from the guy was for a auto car not a 5-speed. Could that be the problem?
     
  4. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    it should throw a lock-up code. Are you getting a CEL?
     
  5. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    I'm not sure how to check with the obd1 swap . But yes it is throwing a cel
     
  6. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    ok i got that fixed. i had some the wires in the wrong place. but now when i crank it it wont hold an idle unless i hold the gas, and its running really rich.. any help would be great.
    thanks guys!
     
  7. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Did you switch the TPS wires?
     
  8. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    im thinking thats it cause, it sounds dumb of me but i broke my tbs and i couldnt find out how to take it out cause it doesnt have screws so i but a b18 throttle body on it and now it has this problem.. so i didnt know if that would have anything to do with it
     
  9. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    When you do the DPFI to MPFI you have to switch the outside two wires on the TPS plug because the daul-point TPS works the opposite way as the multi-point. If you dont switch them youll be rich at idle and lean at WOT. This is how you get them "rivets" out.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    ok thanks man! im going to go try that out, ill let you know how it goes!
     
  11. 88honda1333

    88honda1333 New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    the car ran and drove wonderful! thanks for the help:D
    but a new problem has came up, which happened today. it doesnt do it much but sometime the car starts to jumping or kicking knowever you would like to say it, like its dying or lost power and the check engine goes off(which the check engine light is always on). then the cel comes back on and the car is fine.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page