profec e-01?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

kell211

is anyone here familiar enough with the Greddy profec e-01 to offer help. my car is running like shit, and i'm very new to the car and the system running it. the motor is an ls/vtec with je 9:1 pistons, crower rods, str cam gears, the motor has already been sleeved and is running a t3-04e .57 a/r. any way, the car runs extremely rough and i'm wondering if anyone would be able to help me learn to use the profec to tune the car. any help would be greatly appreciated.

e-01 is a boost controller, not a device that makes a car run rough or great.
what are you running for fuel management?

the greddy e-manage. both were on the car when i bought it, so i know very litttle about using either one. i know that the profec will allow me to adjust about anything in the computer within reason, i just aren't sure where to start. one specific question is about the vtec. it has been adjusted to kick on at 4800 and on the same screen it has an air adjustment of 17%. what would be that benefit and hinderences of having the vtec kick in that early and is the 17% too much or too little air. i thought this may be the source of the problem because it starts running rough at about that time. of course i also thought it may be a problem with air/fuel or the timing. the profec and e-manage have an auto learn for setting the boost, which hasn't been done. would it be better to use the auto learn or to manually set the parameters for boost? and if so, where do i start? sorry for all the questions, but i'm really lost for what to do on the car and there is no one within 2 hours of where i live to take it to.

e-manage is basically a glorified VAFC.

the profec allows for boost control only. everything else will be done on the emanage.