1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

q6600 up to 3.6GHz

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by GSRCRXsi, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    not a bad OC i think. took a lot of tinkering and temps are still higer than i like (~71C in prime95, ~63C when folding.

    Machine:
    Antec 900
    q6600 G0
    Asus P5K3 Deluxe
    2x1GB G.Skill DDR3-1066
    Cooler Master Xtreme 550W
    zalman 9700NT performance mode (1300-2800rpm)
    2x 120mm tri-cool front fans (low)
    1x 200mm tri-cool top fan (high)
    1x 120mm side fan (1400 rpm)
    1x 120mm scithe rear fan (1200rpm)

    Code:
    CPU Ratio                          [9] 
    FSB Frequency                      [400] 
    DRAM Frequency                     [DDR3-800MHz]
    DRAM Timing Control                [Auto] 
    DRAM Command Rate                  [Auto]
    DRAM Static Read Control           [Auto] 
    DRAM Dynamic Write Control         [Auto] 
    Transaction Booster                [Auto]
    Clock-Overcharging Mode            [1000mV]
    CPU Spread Spectrum                [Disable]
    PCIE Spread Spectrum               [Disable]
    CPU Voltage                        [1.5125V]
    CPU Reference Voltage              [.63x] 
    CPU Voltage Damper                 [Enable]
    CPU PLL Voltage                    [1.60V] 
    DRAM Valtage                       [Auto]
    FSB Termination Voltage            [1.50V]
    North Bridge Voltage               [1.70V]
    North Bridge Ref. Voltage          [.67x]
    South Bridge Voltage               [Auto]
    any recommendations on what i can do to get this stable with a LOWER vcore? temps are pretty high and id like to get them under 70C which priming. i dont know what to do with the other settings, they are pretty much maxed out.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Water, or phase cooling. A ThermalRight Ultra Extreme might bring them down a little, but anything worth talking about would have to be more extreme than air. You're reaching pretty close to the limit on air for the CPU, hell, you've surpassed a LOT of people.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
  3. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    a TRUE (thermalright ultra extreme) is probably the best heatsink out there, but its huge and somewhat difficult to mount. it will definately help out your temps, which seem a little toasty. that or stick it under water, which calesta probably more than recommends :p. anything danger den or swiftech will fit the bill.

    as for squeezing more, 3.6ghz is pretty damn good for a quad. dont have a set of your RAM timing, but loosing them up and tweaking the settings can give you head room. however, it already looks like your running the RAM lower than it can go. so it pretty much looks like youre maxed out on air.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Aside from having to have the mobo out, it is actually really easy to mount, much easier than the OEM push and twist HSF :).
     
  5. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yea i have no need OCing the ram yet, running the divider 1:1 and im only at 800MHz. the ram is rated for 1066. i let the ram on auto (except the voltage) timings are decent (6-6-6-15, 2T)

    im trying some new settings, i upped the Vcore a tad, the previous setup would fail prime after like 3 hours. so im hoping the slight increase will help me out.

    ive looked at the true, but im not sure if i want to get that, or the scythe orochi :) talk about huge, but if it cools well ill take it. 4 lbs of massivness. look it up
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It is rather large

    [​IMG]
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yea im familiar with it. but its nothing compared to the orochi

    [​IMG]
     
  8. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    hmm, so why do you have the cpu fan pulling through the HS rather than blowing it up and out the top? seems like the top fan and cpu fan would be working against each other
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    It isn't, I took that pic while setting it up, it blows towards the HS and out the top.
     
  10. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    those bigger heatsinks cost a lot.. usually around 50-60 dollars minus fan. and does put a lot of stress on the motherboard itself. if i ever spent that much, i rather do water.

    also, for the voltage, that seems kinda high? if you go to xtremesystems.org they have a q6600 thread and seems liek most are getting 3.6-4.0 depending on your luck. but there voltages are much lower. does ur board have an adjustment for vdroop? thats a big factor for stability too.

    since u have so much head room for ur ram, why not trying to run it asynchronously for more mem. bandwidth?
     
  11. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yes. i posted the Bios above. CPU voltage damper = vdroop stabilizer. made a huge difference. but still not enough. my chip/setup just requires too much voltage and generates too much heat to handle at this point.

    so i think ill have to take a loss. seems no matter what i do at 3.6, im running stupid hot and cant get it stable for more than 3 hours. so i dropped it down to 3.51 (390x9) and it looks like i can get it stable with only 1.45V. runs almost 10C cooler too. i may just have to accept defeat here. for now... haha a better cooler or WC might be in the future to tackle this again.

    yea i know the cost of the big heatsinks, but they should do the job. and its still cheaper than a WC setup which i cant afford to drop in right now (plus i have like zero room for all the components with 5 HDD's lol) although it would be the best solution. and i know some poeple are able to achieve 3.6 with lower voltage, but they got good chips, mine seems to be just mediocre :( but not much performance gain between 3.5->3.6 so im still hapy.

    and yea ill bump the ram, i left it 1:1 for testing. right now its running at 975MHz
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Dude, 3.6 on air isn't mediocre from a 2.2gHz Q6600 on air. I've got one of the early 1.325 VID chips and while I can keep it cool, but it isn't stable above 3.2 for more than 6 hours.
     
  13. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    aparently 1.325 VID is the worst there is... i just wish i had one of those 1.25 chips that clock great with low volts and low heat :( ive given up on 3.6 for now. i just cant get it stable without pumping more volts. and im sure ill be running close to 80C with my current cooling. but good news is that 3.51 is running pretty well and looking promising. temps are 72,72,65,65. been running oover 6 hrs so far.

    im sure you can get 3.2 stable. i had mine stable pretty easily but after that i had to start pumping the other voltges. i dont know what MB you have but you should be able to get 3.2 by messing with the other settings.
     
  14. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    I've got a BFG 680i LT, if it wasn't the LT it might, but they are not the best for OC'ing :(
     
  15. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    My Q6600 has an IHS that's hopelessly warped. The best thing for decreasing your temps is probably lapping. Look up the q6600 lapping thread on hardforum.com. The guy's temps dropped 10 degrees. Now obviously it'll void your waranty, but you're overclocking so I assume you have no problem with that.

    I haven't done it yet, but I'm planning on it soon here. My overclock is only about 3ghz since it stays nice and cool and is fast enough for what I throw at it.
     
  16. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    im reluctant to lap just yet. the results are too inconsistent. some people see 10C some people see 0C
     
  17. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Not too mention just lapping the CPU is useless is the heatsink mounting face isn't true too.
     
  18. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    yea, some HS are said to be more true than the intel lid, but it seems like it would be harder to lap the base of the HS cause of how big it is.oh well, im not lapping now.
     
  19. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    OMG

    [​IMG]

    btw this isnt the same chip. i bought a different q6600 (its a better clocker) and sold off the old. not stable enough for full prime testing, but it did all the super pi's
     
  20. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    yeah, i figured the last chip reached its max. ive been reading around and it seems like most boards are maxing out on 500fsb wall? good thing that has a pretty good 9x multiplier.

    anyway, still using that zalman?? i saw it last friday at fry's for 20!!! crazy sale, didnt have time to pick one up though.

    btw, great job. lets see if you can eek out that last 5mhz and get to the magic 4.0ghz :D and nice and low volts too.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page