Quad Core VS. Dual Core

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

YouKnowWhoIBee

my avatar is better.
My current setup is a slim case with the following components

AMD 5000+ processor @ 2.6ghz
Nvidia 7300gs 256mb 64bit gpu
Crucial Ballistix 2 x 2gb ram
250w psu

This is all in a slim case, so I am limited to upgrades. I prefer a slim case to hide it away from everything for less clutter.

My recent purchases are

Nvidia 8600GT 512mb 128bit
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad core 2.2ghz cpu

I am limited to the video card so I cannot upgrade to an 8800 or above due to the slim case. Would you recommend me keeping quad core or returning it? I don't notice any hesitation with my current processor, but I got this processor for under 200 with a 60 dollar incentive.

I am just getting into computer gaming and I want a rig that can handle most games. Thanks for any insight you can provide.

I guess it is going back to newegg once they ship it :(

I used this calculator and figured I would be on the money...
eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5

System Type:
Single Processor
Motherboard:
Regular - Desktop
CPU:
AMD Phenom 9550 2200 MHz Agena
CPU Utilization (TDP):
85% TDP
RAM
2 Sticks DDR2 SDRAM
Video Card:
NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS
Video Type:
Single Card
IDE HDD 7200 rpm:
1 HDD
DVD-RW/DVD+RW Drive:
1 Drive
Sound Blaster - All Models:
Yes
Sound Blaster w/ Front Bay:
Yes
PCI-e x1 Card:
1 Card
USB:
6 Devices
IEEE-1394 FireWire:
1 Device
Keyboard and mouse:
Yes
System Load:
90 %

Recommended Wattage:
254 Watts

i wouldn't run a dual proc with less than 450 now, and quad, 550+

Not to thread jack.... but...

I was wondering something similar. My desktop is starting to take a shit, viruses. Bios problems, corrupt partitions on the HD, etc.

I have an antec case, with a 550w huge powersupply in it, adjustable fan etc.. I forget the models but it cost a pretty penny. For now I have a 4000+ and an asus k8n4e delux.