question about Apexi-Vafc vtec controller

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

redwidow

Hi guys, i am thinking of buying the Apexi-Vafc Vtec controller for my 01 honda prelude. I heard alot of people saying that if i set the Vtec lower than the factory, the car will run slow as hell, but i don't know, is that true.... or how does it really work? i am not really good with the "electrical setting" stuff. Please give me your best input :worthy: , Thanks for your time

yes thats definatley true i tried it with with mine.i set it as low as it will go and you here it kick but it sounds like the cars boggin and the at factory settings it kick like it normally does.i also talked to to a friend whos sick when it comes to cars and he said you actually lose power if you set to low.his web site is b20vtec.com check it out.

if you drop vtec down a little but it wont hurt - like factory setting for SOHC is 5500 and if you drop it to 5300 5200 it wont hurt but anymore you will bog

your ideal vtec crossover is going to be slightly different for every engine, obviously honda probably picked the best point for a stock motor.

How you decide is do 2 dyno pulls, one with only the low lobes, one with the vtec lobes, and then you look at the torque curves. Where they cross is where the VTEC crossover should be set to, exactly.

The lower you set the VTEC, the shittier it kicks. The higher you set it, the harder it kicks in, but you have less of it. I wouldn't change it more than a thousand RPM's either way, it just depends on what your setup is.

Originally posted by fastintegra@Nov 13 2003, 03:20 AM