Question about P13

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

hockeymann44

Hey

I have a question about the chips sold on eBay, claiming to be made by Spoon and other reputable companies. A lot of them explain a switchover for VTEC at 5500rpm, with a redline of 9200rpm. Now I'm no expert, but is that safe on stock internals to have a redline of 9200? Thing is, I'm purchasing a P13 ecu from a friend, his is automatic, I need manual hence I need a manual chip. I don't want to purchase this on eBay if it's not a safe combo. Anyone with some insight?

i don't think its the chip that you need to worry about

i know in p28's its only one resistor or capacitor that needs to be removed to convert from auto to manual...

i think your ecu would also need to be socketed to accept one of those chips...

but plain and simple... don't chip it

9200 is not safe for a stock valve train, and thats a lot of mass in the lower end to spin that high as well...
the "chips" will more than likely just dump too much fuel...
definately not worth it

i would try the auto ecu and see if it throws a code, which it probably will... then either have it converted by someone who knows there shit, or buy a manual P13...

do not get an egay chip...

p13's don't take to chipping well in the first place.

furthermore, a CHIP will NOT solve the AUTO->Manual problem. i don't know how the p13's do it, but on most other obd1 ecus, a circuit on the ecu physically needs to be cut on the board. chip or not... auto is an auto, manual is a manual.

just score an OEM un-chipped manual p13 ecu. you'll thank me later. tell your friend to throw that up on ebay.

alright, then let me ask this....

If I were to use this ecu temporarily till I can get my hands on a manual p13 ecu, would anything be affected? I don't care if all I get is a code and that's it. But if it will affect the engine, I'll have to reconsider.

not sure...