1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about Type S swap into Prelude Type SH

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by PhatLude982, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. PhatLude982

    PhatLude982 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    I am having a h22 Type S motor put into my 97 Type SH and had a few questions.
    1. WHich wiring harness do I use? the stock one?
    2. Do I use the distributor of my original motor? the shop said they think so.
    3. Which sensors will not hook up and is that safe and relaible?

    Any other info or help is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  2. rainer1386

    rainer1386 New Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    If it is the same car you should be able to keep your wiring harness. I think the only difference is you are adding vtec, right? If that is the case then you use the distributor that matches your ecu, and if you use your stock wiring harness you just need to add the wires to the vtec solenoid. Any competent tuning shop should be able to do that for you.
     
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Why would he be adding VTEC? All 97-01 Preludes have H22s from the factory.
     
  4. rainer1386

    rainer1386 New Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    I didn't know they didn't have vtec for sure, that is why I asked. If there is no addition in vtec. I,m pretty sure the older wiring harness would work then, as long as they run off the same type of obd.
     
  5. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    Then sorry, but you should not be giving advice if you don't know the simple facts.

    The Type S engine should be the same OBD series as your existing engine, so as long as you have the ECU for the new engine everything should basically plug right in. You should use your stock wiring harness and modify it if needed as the JDM harness will not match up with your car. The distributor should not make a difference unless the plugs are different on the JDM engine, but if you need to swap them to your original distributor it should be fine. The only difference I can think of at this point is that the new engine doesn't have the IAB runners in the intake manifold, but even if you're using the stock ECU it should not cause a check engine light problem if you run the Type S with the single runner manifold.

    Good luck on the swap and post back with any problems you encounter.
     
  6. PhatLude982

    PhatLude982 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    So here is what I have been able to figure with help from Steve at hmotorsonline where I bought the motor and the shop. They are going to use the jdm ecu with the motor. The distributor from the old motor, something about it being external coil. The usdm wiring harness so that it fits through the firewall. And they have to use the usdm oil pump so that the crank sensor transfers.
    I am hoping to not have any check engine lights, etc. on with all of this. It was explained to me that it should run like stock with the extra power. oh yeah and the 120 mph speed limiter.
    Thanks again
     
  7. PhatLude982

    PhatLude982 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Anyone have the schematic on how to hook up the wiring harness to the distributor. Not sure exactly what they are looking for but they said they are trying to wire up the usdm distrubtor on the jdm motor with usdm wiring harness and they are not sure about all the plugs/sensors.
     
  8. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    If you are using your original distributor like your other post states then it should plug right in since you should be using the original harness. If it doesn't plug in you can get a conversion from Rywire - Online Store to make the distributor work.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page