<Rant> Road Vigilantes

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Celerity

As a professional driver, (I drive, as a profession) I have a few complaints to make about people out there. But it's all stuff that everyone rants about. Signals, make-up appliers, busted taillights or whatnot. But I have a special one to rant about...

Road Vigilantes.

Road Vigilantes think they know what's best all around. And they also think that I (or you) are driving far too fast for our abilities. They will block your passes, slam on the brakes, and then when you finally show them your ass (Pass them) they will THEN decide to speed up and ride your ass like a doberman on X. They will flash their lights, honk their horn, and generally show their disdain with you.

This must end.

As a pizza driver, I know my streets very well . And when I'm travelling down RT 110 (Long and straight, down a steep hill) and someone is doing the speed limit - I'm fine. But they hold on the brake THE WHOLE DAMNED TIME. This means that when something REALLY jumps out in front of them, I have no way of telling. As good as no brakelights at all.

So I pass them. Regardless of their speed. I simply don't want to be behind them. Their answer ? RACE ME ! Of course! So we race, but I can pass because I've learned to give no warning of my passing (they don't need the warning under most conditions). Then they will get right on my ass, and trek after me with lights flashing and horn honking. They will yell things at me. They will call me crazy, or worse.

They feel it's their duty to slow my crazy, and obviously unskilled ass down. They MUST do it ! To protect the children! Seeing how the Road Vigilante normally sports $20 KMart tires, $10 brakes (The cheapest brake job in town) and NEVER replace a suspension component, they usually back down quickly when they themselves lose control of the car.