1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ready to Wire the VTEC (Prelude H23 ->H22)

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> BA-BB /CA-CD' started by hillmw, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    I am ready to wire the vtec from my 93 Prelude H23 -> H22 swap.

    I haven't seen a conclusive article on doing this for the Prelude so I thought I'd start a new thread.

    If there is one please post the link so we don't have to re-create the wheel.

    I have 3 connectors to wire up on the H22 engine. I'm going to take a pics of a) those connectors
    , 2) my ecu and harness ends, and 3) where it looks like I'll need to route my wires.
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    http://hondaswap.com/general-tech-articles/how-wire-vtec-40811/

    you dont HAVE to use the shock tower, but it makes everything cleaner. i ran mine that way. just the two wires, one for the pressure switch, one for the solenoid. Then i ran the ground for the switch to the thermostat. its a really easy process.
     
  3. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Reik, that link is for an article for a Civic and the pics are lost.

    Here are the pics for the vtec in my H22.

    [​IMG]

    Here is the other "mystery" sensor not covered by my H23 Harness (or so I thought):

    [​IMG]

    Here is my H22 ECU that has a slot for wires, but is not covered by my harness and of course I am wondering what wires go where!
    [​IMG]

    Here is the area under the dash where the wires should come from. Is this correct?
    [​IMG]


    Here is the area under my hood where I guess I should push the wires past. I'm thinking I'll have to take that fuse box out!
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2006
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    okay man, the wiring is the same for the civic and prelude...you just have fewer wires (pressure switch and solenoid). that article works and the big white picture is the only one you need.
     
  5. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    I never had good luck going past the fuse box. Too tight for the wires, or unseen obstructions. I usually go through a pop out plug(plastic or rubber on firewall down low, or make a new hole and use a rubber grommet.
     
  6. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Ok, I'm going for that A4 and D6 position. I'm going to use 2 of those C position pins on it.

    btw, whats up with that other sensor I am showing with the black/white connector wires. I have a connector plugged into the IAC valve. Do you think the IAC needs to be wired and I am using the connector to this valve in the IAC?
     
  7. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    OK, I wired the VTEC. Code 21 went away I just have 36 left.

    This is how I did it.

    I removed the fuse box under the hood and it exposed a hole. Then there was a horn and 1 of the wires was broken, so I cut the other off and attached a red wire to it. See the tape around the wires ready to be pulled through?

    [​IMG]





    I went inside the car and pulled it out as follows:
    [​IMG]

    I took the old C connector and pulled out a couple wires. You'll have to get a special tool (pin extractor - Fry's or Radio Shack) to get the pin/wire out. Pull the ears back where the arrows are to fold over the connector side so you can pull the pin out.
    [​IMG]

    I also pulled an expandable sleeving down to protect the wires from damage. I soldered them and stuck them in. Here is the result:
    [​IMG]

    I did the same on the engine side. Soldering the ends installing them and cool .... no code 21 !!!!

    Reik / Tab ... thanks alot I appreciate your help.

    Any idea about code 36?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2006
  8. 3D HONDA

    3D HONDA Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    Did you do the knock sensor
     
  9. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Are you guessing or have you had code 36 before and found out it was the knock sensor?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2006
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    the h23 has a knock sensor, no need to rewire for a new one.

    36 is a code for the jdm traction control. im not sure if there is a way to disable that.
     
  11. 3D HONDA

    3D HONDA Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    My 2.3 never had a knock sensor i had to wire it in thats weird !
     
  12. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Well I'll have to ck it and see if it is wired. I know I have a wire under the intake manifold that is not hooked up. The connector has like a probe sticking from it, like it penetrates into some sensor.
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    that is weird. i know i didnt have to wire one on mine...then again, i never did get the knock sensor code fixed, so i might have just been using the wrong plug, ya never know. A p28 solved the KS problem, so i really dont mind.
     
  14. 3D HONDA

    3D HONDA Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    The plug not connected under your inlet that is the knock sensor you have to wire that in
     
  15. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Do you know what sensor that is with the black and white leads coming from it in the pic above?
     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    that, my friend, is the jdm mystery sensor. it is not required to run. if i remember right, you can just remove the sensor and plug the vacuum straight into the manifold where it intercepted it.
     
  17. 3D HONDA

    3D HONDA Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Bonnie Scotland
    im with you here reikoshea i just doen away with this on my accord
     
  18. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    Well guess what I found out tonight. I put the car on a lift and saw a connector underneath the intake that was not connected. In fact it went to a sensor just under the intake and above the oil filter. Then the connector I took from there connected to my "mystery sendor" that i showed above.

    No more check engine light!!! No code 36.

    It runs ok, but I just dont think its timed correctly. Read my new post about that. I think it should run better than that. After all its 200 hp.
     
  19. d112crzy

    d112crzy im not a n0ob, trust me

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    yea, thats why h22's are nothing but hype(stock).

    until you tune it, you wont feel its full power.
     
  20. hillmw

    hillmw the commish (h23 to h22)

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Worth
    d ... can u help with the timing issue?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page