redline

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

umm.... what does your tach say???

if you want to know the fuel cut-off then hit your gas in neutral and see when it popcorns

popcorns?? lol

the 88-91 civic LX had a 1.5 D15B2 which has a 6800rpm redline.

the 88-91 civic si engine 1.6l D16A6 has a 7100rpm redline.

I'm new to this - as you can see. but is that bad to redline your engine - I mean I know that it'll ruin it if you do for a long time but is there any immediate effects?

no, i redline my little D15 about 10 times a day. your rev limiter saves it from being over-revved, and the tach is often off by 200rpms or so at the redline (looks like u are at redline, but its actually a little lower). the danger of redlining a stock engine is over-stepping the rpm limits of the ECU's program. mechanically, you are still ok, unless you are running boost (NOS, turbo, supercharger).

RPM's = Ruins Peoples Motors. Over Revving is the number one cause of fucked up motors. Don't do it unless you are racing.

yes but those are usually modified engines. im talking factory stock. although there is danger of blowing a gasket or seal, but if your oil level isnt over full it should be ok i think.

holy shit why would u wanna rev that high i usually shift at 4 or 5 on daily drive. jesus. redlining your car does NOT make you cool!

Only if you know what the powerband is. Factory redline is (almost) always well past peak horsepower. You would have to know what the HP and torque curves look like and what your various gear ratio's are to gain any meaningful benefit from overrevving any engine with stock internals.
Short answer: Stock cars with stock engines usually go slower down the track when over-reved.....and needlessly risk engine damage. :eek:
Pappy

Originally posted by steelbuster@Dec 3 2003, 07:52 PM