1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

reground cams

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by 89 hatch, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    does anyone know if reground cams are good or bad. everybody I know say they suck but nobody has ever used them
     
  2. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    true but they probably have an awesome welder that does theres. if I send mine to lets say crower (not that there bad or anything) couldnt the weld come apart. Ive also heard that they wear fast.
     
  3. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    They don't weld the lobes higher, they grind the low area (away from the lobe) lower, then you adjust your valve lash accordingly, and it acts like you have higher lobes. There is no welding involved.

    The quality of the grind (smooth transitions, care taken not to overheat the material while grinding)and how much is ground away are your main concerns. Decide what stage of grind is best for your goals, you really can't go wrong with crower.
     
  4. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    ok cool. now I have a dohc zc can I take the cams out of an 89 teg so I have to loose the stock cams.
     
  5. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    You should cam the teg with DOHC ZC out of your car to the head for stock motors.

    That made about as much sense as your last post.

    If you have DOHC ZC cams use them. Whether it be in a D16A1 or a ZC, they have a more aggressive profile and will yield more power.

    If you're talking about putting D16A1 cams in a DOHC ZC, don't. You can, but that's like putting lower than stock compression pistons in a N/A vehicle, sure it will work, but you'll have less power than stock.
     
  6. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    I know the zc cams are better but if I send them to be ground there gone and if I dont like the grind im out my zc cams and nothing to use.
     
  7. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    So you're going to get D16A1 cams and send them out to be ground instead of your stock cams. Great idea. Do it.
     
  8. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    it was just an idea maybe a stupied idea but now I know not to do it
     
  9. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    No, I'm serious. Save your stock cams and grind some others. It'll cost you more, but If you got the money and you end up not liking the way the regrind cams work, you still got the stockers. Not being sarcastic.
     
  10. 89 hatch

    89 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Location:
    fl
    oh sorry my bad. I heard that you can get wed cam regrinds without sending a core, is that true?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page