reliable 16 year old engines?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

skate1968

I'm considering buying a used low-miles jdm d16 (1989-1991) from a reputable importer for my daily driver. I have very little mechanical knowledge.

Could this engine be nearly as reliable as a 1999 or 2001 with the same amount of mileage? (i do know to look at the warranty)

I've browsed many 'how-to' posts and articles. But I still have questions.

How dependable will the 16 year old rubber/plastic be in the seals/gaskets?

What do you think of this idea? please read:

"2. New seals. ALL new seals. Main seals, cam seals, valve cover gasket, spark plug grommets, etc. You can replace them now while it’s easy or wait to spring a leak because the 10 year old rubber deteriorated."

-- post from honda-tech.com

If you replace all the seals does that remove ALL worries with the 16 year old engine? Does it remove most of the worries? (i assume it'd be a fairly inexpensive to do while the engine is out)

What about the piston rings/oil control rings? Do these deteriorate with age? Or if the engine has low miles and was properly treated/maintained can you safely assume the rings will be fine? (i wasn't planning on paying for a rebuild)

I'm thinking that if 16 year old engines can be used for racing then they're probably be fine for daily driving. I could get several happy years out of one. What do you think?

Thanks for reading. I welcome your comments.

Background: I thought my oil consumption would go down after i got the leaky valve cover gasket replaced. I'm still consuming oil. I'm certain that the rings are worn.

The car's undercarriage is good -- undercoated, no worry of rust. I just got a low miles jdm stock 91 DX manual transmission for 150 bucks and I am very happy with it.