1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remodel

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by mdlax1, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    There are a ton of things we're going to do while we're here at our first house, some are still on the decision block, some are deff getting done.

    This project is remodeling our basement. There are a few reason why we want to do this. Some of which include:

    No insualation in the entire basement. Not one stich
    Wood Panel walls (it's not the 60's anymore)
    2x3 framing
    Old electric
    Primative A/V cable

    So we're:...

    network the entire house, coax, fiber, cat6, patch panels, svideo, drywall everything, insulate, add drops for 7.1 surround, building a reinforced wall for the 50"+ lcd tv unit, new carpet, new windows, fresh electric, new theatre lighting, fresh paint, etc

    Here are some shots of the floor plan when it's all said and done.

    (update: everywhere you see 2 network drops its now one figure i dont really need 12 in my house.. one in each room 3 in the office is fine)

    Downstairs
    [​IMG]

    Upstairs
    [​IMG]


    Here is some shots of the before and after demo.

    [​IMG]
    (under this window is where the 50 + flat LCD will go (we're reinforcing the stuts here to support it)

    [​IMG]
    (New windows going in place of these POS's *most our heat is out these shit boxes)

    [​IMG]
    (Fucking panel everywhere)

    [​IMG]
    (Going to be all sheet rock)

    [​IMG]
    (People before us' awesome molding job)

    [​IMG]
    (Demo started)

    [​IMG]
    (Panels all gone)

    [​IMG]
    (fucking 2x3's if it was at least 2x4's i wouldnt have to reframe it all.FUCK!)



    [​IMG]
    (Phone line ran INTO the air duct.. awesome...)

    [​IMG]
    (Framings gone)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    (the only wall with 2x4's *looking into my office* too bad they built it OVER the fucking paneling.. so thats gonna come down too..)

    [​IMG]
    (looking into my work shop/utility room)

    Few more pictures for you all.

    Wall being built
    [​IMG]

    Wall hung
    [​IMG]

    We only got to one wall up tonight, granted a large wall. I'm ordering all my networking stuff tonight/tomorrow and working on demoing one more wall and a doorway we didnt think we were tearing out, sealing up some of the masonry, and adding a new joice.

    Water proofing on the masonry behind where the TV will be
    [​IMG]

    Random shot of doing it right
    [​IMG]

    Decided to pull out the last wall while we were at it, and again, re-do it right
    [​IMG]

    24' wall up
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Boxing out the framing for the breaker box
    [​IMG]

    Wall the Tv will go on framed up. Minus the support for the tv (those cross members are me sketching out where i want the tv i'll be adding major support here soon
    [​IMG]

    2 more walls to go after this guy (back wall in my office)
    [​IMG]


    Discusting single pane aluminum frame window w/ sill framed out
    [​IMG]

    New windows ready to go in
    [​IMG]

    Second to last wall getting framed out
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The wall is actually level and plum... think the rafters might be off a bit????
    [​IMG]


    NEW 10/22/2006

    Still see the hook ups from the kitchenette, black wire on the left is the main for the oven i guess
    [​IMG]

    Office Wired for electric
    [​IMG]

    Nother wall getting juice
    [​IMG]

    14-2 jungle
    [​IMG]

    New recessed (see diagram for locations)
    [​IMG]

    My office done (just needs RJ drops for the network)
    [​IMG]

    New recessed (very good boxes too.. )
    [​IMG]

    Theater 3 ways and recessed switches
    [​IMG]

    Next on the list, Cat 5e run and insulation. then it's the home stretch!

    Next some stuff im getting for the network lol [pushes up glasses]


    Red CAT 5e Horizontal UTP Bulk Cable 1000'
    [​IMG]


    Bag of 100 of these
    [​IMG]

    Termination cabinet for the patch panel and switch
    [​IMG]

    Bout 20 of the "21's"
    [​IMG]

    Two of these to organize the cable from the box
    [​IMG]

    12 of these
    [​IMG]

    12 of these
    [​IMG]

    12 of these
    [​IMG]

    12 of these
    [​IMG]

    1 of these 24 port patch panel
    [​IMG]

    1 24 port switch
    [​IMG]



    I'm also getting Verizon's Fios TV and Internet soon as college football season is over, so all these infrastructure is gonna be backed up by a 15 gig optic line ;) OMG im a nerd but i love it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2006
    1 person likes this.
  2. Vosty

    Vosty "REP 4 U" Whore Member!!!

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Lower Valley, WA
    LoL... looking good man keep up the hard work... :thumbsup:
     
  3. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  4. BigJ

    BigJ I'm just about that action Boss. VIP

    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    408
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Location:
    Washington
    Looks like you're spending some serious money. If you need any tips or anything hit me up on aim bmxslyguy187. I build for a living and I'm obsessed with remodels. I did one last summer for free, a 5 bedroom basement just to learn more processes and to tackle problems like sloped floors and such.
     
  5. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    Spending hasnt been TOO bad, so far my total is up to 1723.21 but thats including 700 in attic insulation too.

    and i've already got all the insulation for the basement, all the windows doors 2x4's some tools, big ass dumpster in my driveway, saw horses, shop vac etc etc only thing i havent bought yet is carpet, drywall/mud/tape. My budget is 4,000 if i can stay less than 1k over that i'll be happy.

    Also not mentioned is that im replacing the cabinet you see all the way on the right in this picture
    [​IMG]

    with one of these ;)
    [​IMG]:)

    I will hit you up because i have a pretty heafty question about replacing the windows and mudding the drywall.
     
  6. Bob Vila

    Bob Vila ɐןıʌ qoq Admin VIP

    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol, Ct.
    you're putting a wine fridge right next to a range?

    :eek:

    I'd build a wine cellar in the basement since your redoing it over anyways.
     
  7. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    whats wrong with the chiller near the range?
     
  8. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Awsome looking job man. :thumbsup: Interested to see if your using molding and and such after the sheetrock is up.
     
  9. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    why not just go wireless instead of running wires everywhere?
    just curious
     
  10. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
    My guess is that it is very inefficient to put a fridge next to a heat source...
     
  11. Bob Vila

    Bob Vila ɐןıʌ qoq Admin VIP

    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol, Ct.
    correct.

    and also, there was nothing "structurely" wrong with using 2x3 construction in the basement, most contractors will but 2x4's on the flat to make the most room. I would have left them up there and just rock'd over them instead of building new walls unless needed to partition different space.

    But thats just me, good luck, I'm sure it'll come out great. :)
     
  12. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    lol. Bob Vila giving construction advice on Hondaswap. too funny.
     
  13. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Join us for next weeks episode of "This Old Basement"
     
  14. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Man wireless is a pain in the ass. I haven't found a router yet that doesn't drop the link on a daily basis. Plus issues with interference from flourescent lights, the wiring in the house, cordless phones...
    I wish i had set up my office with cables instead of wireless. I thought wireless would be less of a hassle. It's not.
     
  15. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI

    Word to that. It could have saved you some time and money. I would have also egressed the window as well so it could be counted as sq footage on the house as well.
     
  16. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    Wireless sucks, nothing beats a good ole wired connection, faster more reliable.

    lol, um.. my wife cooks like all the time, i dont see one thing wrong with having a range next to a wine chiller, first ovens and wine chillers are insulated lol. Next the same amount of radiant heat coming through the bay window in the front of the kitchen will have the same effect on a wine chiller. thats kinda like saying dont put it next to the dishwasher because when it's on, it's harder for the chiller to chill.. maybe the case but not by much.. hell im getting more engergy loss OUT the window if anything

    structurally no, but at the top of my post you'll see the main reason was insulation. ever try to run new outlet boxes and lay drywall over 3 inches of insulation on a 2.5 inch "2x3" ? not worth the hassle. Rip it out and bring it up to code and up to par. No reason to cut corners

    Time isnt a real issue, and money thankfully isnt either, and...

    HUH? regressed window and sq footage? how do you mean?
     
  17. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
    In the state of Wisconsin, as i assume it is in all states, in order to claim your basement as a "livable" space (square footage) you must satisfy the basement egress code. Basically it means that another opening could be used in case of a fire as an emergency exit.

    Lets say for example I purchase a 1500 sq ft house with an unfinished basement. I am a shop teacher so one summer I decide to finish off the 800 sq ft basement. In order to add that to the total sqare footage of the house bringing it to 2300 square feet I need to satisfy this code. In most cases it means installing a bigger window with a well so that in the case of a fire I can get out of the window and climb up to the surface.

    I am assuming that you aquired a building permit for this project...If not when you go to sell your house you could run into a myraid of problems. In a worst case scenario the inspector could actually make you tear out all of the work that is being done.

    here is a link to a site that might explain egress a little better.

    Basement Answers - Basement Egress Window Wells - Basement Egress Window Wells
     
  18. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    well nothing is being expanded that hasn’t already existed we're not increasing the sq footage/finished living area, nor increasing the window sizes, we're actually shrinking the size of the basement because of the 1" in 2x4 that is being added all around.

    we're basically making everything more efficient more than anything else, in addition there are other exits in the basement other than the windows there is another door as well
     
  19. chestercheeto48

    chestercheeto48 Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Location:
    madison, WI
    Oh that changes the whole equation I didn't see a door in the photos. I would still be surprised if you didn't "need" a permit for a remodel but each state is different. I know in WI you need a permit for everything from pouring a new driveway to changing you deck on your house. I am just trying to lend a fellow swapper and home improver a hand.

    FYI- Building Permits

    "Building permits are required any time a building--a home, an apartment complex, a store, a church, an office building, or whatever--is constructed, enlarged, altered or demolished. In Maryland, builders apply for permits from either the County or the town where the building site is located."
     
  20. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    no worries bro, im with ya, the only place you can see the door is in this photo
    [​IMG]

    it's on the far top left you can barely see it really.

    yeah of course i got all the proper and legal permits :rolleyes:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page