Replacing bent valve/cylinder on CRX 87. Please help.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Dimitriy

Hi,

So here is the problem. I bought a CRX that had bad/no compression in one of the valve/cylinders. Its 95% sure that its a bent valve. My brother is an auto mechanic for over 10 years and after playing with the car for a day he got it running ok (except now its spits gas out of the exhaust apparently because the valve is just letting the gas flow through) but the he is positive that it is the valve/cylinder is bent. He adjusted the timing belt for me and also raised my idle throttle to higher so that I dont die at the stop lights.

I am by no means a car mechanic but hey they is always a time to learn.

So I am decided I am not going to be a loser but I am going to GET IT DONE! (easy said then done ofcourse....)

Car:
Honda CRX 2D 1987
180,000 Miles
Assuming DX edition not sure....
(if anybody needs more info give me a shout)

I have just about any tool I need because my brother has them all (at least most of them).

First things first:
1. What should I begin taking apart first? Wires,tubes, pipes, etc...
2. I believe I am going to need a engine lift. How soon should I bring that in?
3. What parts do you think I should replace/clean now that I have the engine in front of me?
4. What parts should I buy from a junkyard and what parts should I just go and buy from the store/factory?

Thats just about all the question I have for now.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am located in the Mukilteo, WA area and if anybody can/wants to stop buy and give me a hand I would definitely appreciate it. If you have some parts or a engine I would also be interested.

LAST THING -- I am aiming for to finish before the 18 of September 2006.

you dont need a lift to replace a headgasket ;)