Rev limiting / VTEC cutout?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

theelemental

Ok, so I have an '89 CRX with a B16a (obd0, pr3 ecu) swapped in. I've been driving it for about 3 months, and have no CELs. This problem has been occuring ever since I got it, but it is not consisent. about 50% of the time, my engine will cut in & out of VTEC in 2nd & 3rd gear when I'm racing, and when I get to about 7k RPM, sometimes my power will drop to 0 (feels like rev-limiting?), or will bounce from none to some, none to some, etc...

other times it's fine, and will let me rev all the way to 8k with no problems.

I have never noticed a problem with revving 1st gear, only the higher gears. I have replaced spark plugs, VTEC solenoid, fuel pump, fuel filter, & distributor.

The next thing I was going to replace was the coolant temperature sensor. It reads fine on the dash, but it used to drop to 0 when I commuted over a mountain to work, and then gradually "heat back up" after getting back to flat ground? Kinda questionable, I thought, so that's next.

Let me know if you have any ideas, also, will a CTS for a 1994 del sol VTEC work on my 1st gen b16?
don't want to spend $40 on the wrong sensor.

Oh, I also looked up the ECU code, and it is for a manual transmission, not auto... someone thought that could have been it.

Thanks, Matt

Maybe you're not getting enough fuel flow at high revs? Throw on a fuel pressure gauge and check that out.

I Guess I could install a guage & look into that. If my pressure is fluxuating, what could be restricting it? Or maybe I should just run some injector cleaner through my tank?
The fuel filter is for a CRX HF. Fuel pump is walbro 255.

Thanks

i would replace the fuel filter. that could be limiting the amount by it being congested. i would also get the fuel pressure gauge just to check it and keep it on there until you get it tuned.