1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RevLimiter probs

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by KuruptedKustums69, Apr 2, 2007.

  1. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    the revlimiter on my car hits at 6600 rpm instead of 8000. i have a B16A and a P2t a12 si ecu. any ideas?
     
  2. killercannible

    killercannible Senior Member

    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Sounds like its running in limp mode, any cels?
     
  3. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
  4. SkyGuy

    SkyGuy mankind can be stupid.

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Location:
    i live in Gaston Oregon
    C.E.L'S= Check Engine Light's (the "S" comes from the end of the word "Light's") (just had to make sure you knew where that came from......sadly some people get confused)
     
  5. TheManRSW

    TheManRSW TheManRSW

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Is vtec kicking on at 5600?
     
  6. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS
    a b16 rev limit of 6500 - 6600 rpm

    thats your vtec pressure switch

    check the wiring

    let me know if that was it;) "D"
     
  7. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    What's an a12 si ecu? Anyways, do you have any internal work done to your motor? Just asking cause when I did my type r swap w/ some work done to it, I was still running my 2000 si P2T ecu and it would feel like rev limitor kicked in at 5500 right where vtec should kick in but it wasn't really the rev limitor just bogging, if I kept on the gas I could power through that lil spot.
     
  8. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS
  9. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    the vtec kicks in just fine. ill try the wirring on that pressure switch. but it might just be my ecu
     
  10. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    my speedometer dont work and my tach.
     
  11. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    If your speedo don't work, how is your vtec kicking in???
     
  12. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS

    good call
     
  13. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    idk. maybe its not but i thought i could hear the vtec
     
  14. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I'd say it's not, one of the 3 things needed for vtec to engage, operating temperture, oil pressure, and speed. If you speed sensor is inop, your vtec won't or in your case shouldn't engage, perfect example, just today I put in a new power steering belt cause I thought that was what was screeching, then later found out ti was the alternator belt due to someone who helped me with my swap broked one of the nuts that holds the bracket in place that holds the alternator up and didn't tell me about it, so I found out the hard way, today. Anyways I thought i'd tighten the alt down but on the 46 miles to work I found out I had not, so I tried again at work, but no go cause it slipped out, battery started draining, lights got dimmer then speedo and tach wouldn't work, and guess what, no vtec.
     
  15. dbone_vtec

    dbone_vtec HONDA 4 LIFE

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    MASS
  16. turbo_ej1

    turbo_ej1 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007

    how do you know your rev-limit is at 6600rpms when ur tach doesnt even work??

    and no you cannot count that fast!! lol
     
  17. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    i know what rpm im at because i have a autometer tachometer that i installed.
     
  18. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    can i post pics somehow on this cuz there are a couple plugs that i have no idea were they go so thats pry a problem!!
     
  19. ThatGuy4life

    ThatGuy4life The Riced Sleeper

    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    upload to photobucket then copy the image code from there and paste in a message here.
     
  20. KuruptedKustums69

    KuruptedKustums69 V8 Killer

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    im taking the pics of the plugs now.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page