1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S2000 cluster in 2000 EK HB

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Redirwol1, Dec 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Redirwol1

    Redirwol1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 2000 Civic HB with an OBD1 LS swap. Can I put an S2000 digital gauge cluster in my car??? I have seen it done on an 92-95 HB in a video I downloaded. Let me know. Thanks.
  2. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,736
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    23
    anything can be done with $$$$$$
  3. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    it can be done, it's not worth your time or money.
  4. Redirwol1

    Redirwol1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well then my question is now, How do I do it?
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    you need to start with wiring diagrams of both, then figure out which wires from your harness need to go to which wire on the cluster, then connect them with a homemade harness, or directly soldering them.
  6. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    9,199
    Media:
    607
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    MD
    you cant really make/use a harness for cluster swaps because of the way it plugs in. but another thing besides wiring it up right you will never get the speedo to work unless you rework the ecu circuitry. s2000 has a digital speedo whereas civics are analog. the analog ecu cant run the digital speedo.
  7. 92dxhatch

    92dxhatch Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    955
    Media:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nor*cal
    HEY, CAN U POST THAT VIDEO, I'D LIKE TO CHECK THAT OUT, I HAVE A 92 CIVIC HATCH, THANKS
  8. Redirwol1

    Redirwol1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0


    The S2000 cluster in this civic worked completely. The civic had a turbo charged swap, I believe CFT(central florida turbo) dynoed it. I believe I saw it in one of their vidoes. Well anyways, the digital speedo and tach worked. Everything did. There has got to be a way if it worked in this guys car.
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    9,199
    Media:
    607
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    MD
    he probably reworked the ecu like i said. and believe me its not an easy task, especially if you know nothing about computer circuit boards.
  10. Redirwol1

    Redirwol1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0


    Correction, I found the video. Its a CRX with a K20 swap. I will post the link for the video and you can see it works and functions like it should.

    http://www.k20a.org/upload/video005.mpg

    There you go.
  11. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!


    Say what?

    Rework the ECU??

    HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA

    Ok buddy...... I got news for ya.

    ALL 92+ Civic's use a VSS

    Vehicle Speed Sensor

    It aint analog
  12. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    The speedometer doesn't work in that video.
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    14,170
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The closest I have seen is a guy in Germany, and he couldn't get the speedo or the temp to work. Everything else, but not those too, as mentioned before it is digital and not compatible, you can look into a system like the Delfi or Defi or whoever makes digital gauges for old domestics.
  14. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    You guys kill me....

    Analog - Mechanical parts causing other mechanical parts to move

    88-91 Civic has a cable that runs from the tranny to the speedo.

    This is analog

    Digital - Mechanical parts along with electronic components that send a signal to another electronic part that causes the mechanical part (speedo needle) to move.


    Figure out what the pulse rate is for both and you have a winner.

    BTW - It's NOT in the ecu, but it does have something to do with the ECU.

    Hint: How do you think K20 swaps are able to be installed in 5th gen cars?
  15. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    14,170
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The S2000s Digital display, and the EG/EK/whatevers "digital" workings to analog display, are not compatible. More than one person has tried and failed, there is more to it than "well this is digital, and this has digital parts, so it can work".

    Not saying it can't be done, but it is more than repinning the circuit board.
  16. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Find me an electrical diagram for the VSS and Instrument cluster on a S2K and I'll find the link.


    OOOO, just thought of something.....

    Did/Does the S2k spin clockwise?
  17. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i will start mine up and look tomorrow.. i'm going to the relatives house right now....

    and AMM i have wiring diagrams at the shop also..
  18. dohch22a4

    dohch22a4 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    The F20C spins like the K20A. Opposite of all of Honda's previous motors.
  19. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Well, it seems that direction spinning is not the problem....

    After some serious searching and checking different sites, it MAY be able to be done.

    HOWEVER, if you have a VTEC enabled car, you will need to trick the ECU into thinking the car is moving all the time.

    So, if anyone is willing to try it, it would seem the VSS from an insight (digital dash, FWD) might just work with the S2k cluster.

    I was able to find all the wiring diagrams for everything BUT the Speedo. However, I will NOT conceed that this cannot be done.
  20. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    you may be able to do something with them dakota digital gauges, and use some of the circuitry. Ive seen those gauges in civics, and they use the digital display like in the S2000.... just a thought...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page