1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sc61 w/low boost until I build motor?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by livinlow, Jun 19, 2004.

  1. livinlow

    livinlow Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Instead of buying a t03/t04e turbo and running it on my b18c1 w/stock internals, could I just get the bigger sc61 and run it on 7 psi or so until I build the motor with at least block sleeves, rods, and pistons? This is the turbo I want in the end but I don't want to buy 2 turbos until I build the block and port the head. Thanks a lot.
     
  2. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    if im not mistaken that is the same turbo.
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    an sc61 IS a t3/t04 and is availble with either E or S compressor housings.

    you'll be fine running it low boost- just don't be disappointed with the results.
     
  4. NotUrAverage_Si

    NotUrAverage_Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    :/

    you are correct, sir.
     
  5. radnulb

    radnulb Senior Member

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnaty, Ohio
    to quote a friendofafriend's away message on AIM:
    "Gone: waiting for my SC61 to spool, be back later"
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i'm not a big fan of all the hype surrounding precisions.
    i really don't see them making any more power than others....

    thats why i went with the full-race t3/t67 :)

    lag? hardly...

    at 1/4 throttle just putting around when she did run, i had 4 psi on tap by 3k-range
     
  7. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    But you also have a bored-out 2.0L GSR fully built, with a mean head and Full-Race goodies to help spool that bad boy up.

    Most of the guys here don't have fully built motors and there WILL be lag if they attempt to strap on a T3/T67 onto their stock blocks. Just food for thought in case some of the noobs think they can strap on a big turbo like that and get away with it.
     
  8. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    fuck it. wait for it to spool and seeya later. You spool at lower rpms you have a better chance of losing traction anyways.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page