school sux, opening a shop

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

college is so fucking overrated, i go to ny city tech for construction management, proffessors blow, they are serious assholes, parents hate the fact that i want to just work, college is good if u want to be a lawyer, doctor or architect, i just want to work and work my way up in a field, but nooooo! i cant cus people talk shit about college dropouts, anyway its my second year, it takes an 1 and a half eachway to get to school, downtown brooklyn and im in queens, so this is it, i work full time, and school full time, i loooove cars and everything about them, im not good with mechanics but i love audio electronics, and love body work and custom body work. i.e. conversions, paint, u name it i love it, i want to get a job, real chep im guessing at a body shop or audio shop just to learn more and more about it , i dont wanna go to school for it becaues i can learn at a body shop, i want to get good, practice and expert the field, does anyone know any requirements to opening up your own body shop or audio shop, do you need any certifications or is anyone in my shoes, please gimme your comments, its time to start planning my life, and stop listening to what others have planned for me. thanx fellas :unsure:

u need a business license, not hard to get. remember 4 out of 5 shops that open end up closing with 5 years, it is hard work but u can do it.

90% of all businesses fail withing the first 9 months.

good luck, but i would advise you to stay in school

or join the military. put in 4 years, come out and work as a contractor of some sort and watch the cash flow in

You might want to take some basic accounting and small business courses. You can find these available as adult continuing ed courses.