security system advice

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

D16Civic

Matt
VIP
I know some of you guys have some type of security system, be it for home or business purposes. I'm looking into installing something at the house as some added piece of mind beyond the .45 and dog barks. I live in an area of very low crime, but we've had a rash of petty thefts, including my across the street neighbors having their gps/ipods stolen from their cars, albeit unlocked. I work afternoons, and don't get home until 230 am, so wife/kid are home alone at least 4 nights a week. Wife is a pretty good shot, but video proof can never hurt.

My question is, what should I be looking for and what kind of price point is reasonable? I'd like to stay away from wireless, in all honesty. I'll be DIYing this, and I've got plenty of experience pulling coax/cat5, and I have all the necessary tools and materials, so that's not an issue. I need an Iphone/android app, HD of some sort would be nice (because why not), and some type of night vision.

The internet reviews vary wildly, so it's a bit confusing, and I'm a little bit lost, so any thoughts or advice would be appreciated.

TIA

I use Lifeshield...The equipment was free,its a self install system, easy as shit to setup. Can access everything through your phone by an App or online through a dashboard type interface. It's cheaper than ADT and higher rated....If you want, give me your email and i can refer you through my account and we both will get some special discount.

or just check it out at Lifeshield.com....I have the gold package..didn't want to pay extra for the camera monitoring..i'll do that myself at some point without the monthly fee....i haggled them for some extra sensors for free and it was no problem.

Mine even came with a Tablet, it's a Coby but w/e lol. I think they still come with tablets

what type of set up are you looking for?