Should I do DPFI>MPFI and OBD0>1 at the same time?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

scuzz

Guys, I searched and not found what I need.
I have been given the intake, engine harness, dist, ECU, and anything else I need from a 92 Civic.
I have a 88 CRX DX, and want to use the parts to change over to MPFI.
Would it be beneficial to go to OBDI at the same time, or is that too much at one time?
I've worked on cars for years, but I'm new to Honda.
Any advice or link to site would really help.
Thanks,
Ron

Are you changing the engine out for the one in the Civic? If so you will have to convert to OBD1 in order to use the ECU from it.

Rywire - Online Store is one place to get the OBD conversion harness from.

I re-built the engine about a year ago when a friend gave me the car. He bought it new for his daughter in 88 and it smoked so bad they parked it about 6 years ago. The oil rings had seized to pistons from carbon buildup.
It's a great running car now, but I wanted to get rid of the DPFI, and another friend had this blown 92 car with same basic 16 valve engine told me whatever I wanted, use it.
I thought it might be good to convert to OBDI while I was changining to MPFI.
Is it easier to do same at same time since I have everthing?
I was hoping I could find a thread where someone had done both at same time.
Thanks,
Ron

I am in the same boat. Converting DPFI to MPFI. I have everything I need except for the under dash harness and the ecu. I have a extra PM6 ecu but the pins are not in the right spot to do the conversion so Im just going to swap out the whole harness. Need any other info let me know.

Guys, I searched and not found what I need.
I have been given the intake, engine harness, dist, ECU, and anything else I need from a 92 Civic.
I have a 88 CRX DX, and want to use the parts to change over to MPFI.
Would it be beneficial to go to OBDI at the same time, or is that too much at one time?