1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

should i get a different fuel pump for b20/b16 swa

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by khai_tuan_nguyen, Sep 2, 2003.

  1. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    I did a swap into my 1997 civic 2 dr coupe hx. The swap is the b20b block with a b16 vtec head. I am having trouble starting and my engine cuts out at 6700. I am using the stock fuel pump. Should i upgrade to a si or gsr fuel pump.

    Khai
     
  2. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    I had the same problem and was even throwing a code for fuel tank presure sensor until i put in a b16 fuel pump and now it runs great
     
  3. lsvteg94

    lsvteg94 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
    i am not sure if it is related to the fuel pump cause i just installed my built lsvtec (12.3:1 c.r) motor and have no fuel issues. I will have to upgrade my fuel pump due to my high compression ratio. Your issues sounds like ecu, injector, or sensors. Are you getting any codes?
     
  4. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Yeah i have a coolant temperature or level low input code (code 6) and something about the vtec. I have no vtec yet and my car cuts out at 6700. My ecu is a p72. (Gsr i believe)
     
  5. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    for starters it sounds like for sure your ecu is looking for secondary butterflies to activate, also when you have cel's your ecu runs in limp mode, it doesn't let the car run, strong so that you can't literally break shit.



    Milan
     
  6. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Thanks milan for the help. So since i am throwing codes my engine sets the redline at 6700? If my ecu is looking for secondary butterflies what should i do? Also why do you say that it is looking for seondary butterflies? Is that startup related?
     
  7. SLA

    SLA Senior Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Are there larger injectors in you car say 440?
     
  8. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    nope, just stock 240cc ones.

    Khai
     
  9. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
  10. WannabeSI

    WannabeSI Senior Member

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    ive ran a p72 when my motor was a B16 and had no issues
     
  11. Gen2Teg

    Gen2Teg Senior Member

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    san francisco
    Not sure but if i were you, i'd chage the water, oil, and fuel pumps to GSR, and since you'd get the water pump, you'd have to get the timing belt too. It'd be a lot better. The P72 ECU should work fine with what you got. But im not sure what the actual problem is.
     
  12. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    a p72 ecu is a obd1 GSR ecu, he is running a motor without the butterflies...and there is a plug for that, so if that isn't plugged then the ecu is goign to detect that, then codes go up...
     
  13. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    yeah you need a different ecu, the gsr looks for the secondary butterflies and your setup does not have them so your ecu throws a code and your ecu runs in safe mode and you have no power, your car starts like crap, no vtec, all that good stuff.
     
  14. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Thanks a ton for the help guys, i guess that is the explanation for why my car has been starting so crappy. It idles up and downs and dies sometimes and i have to let it warm up for a long time. IS there a different ecu i can run that is direct plug and play. I have a si ecu, but the plugs are different. Anyone have one, I have an si and a gsr ecu up for grabs? lol
    Thanks again
    KHai
     
  15. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    like b16 said in another post, i dont think the butterflies will throw a code. i mean how would you install the skunk2 manifold without trowing a code? the skunk2 installs fine and wont throw a code, yet it doesnt have butterflies <_< he said the only code hes getting is for coolant sensor or something, he didnt say he was throwing a code for butterflies.

    your ecu may still be the problem, it might not have the right fule maps to run a b20vtec. try a p73 ecu, but im almost positive its not becasue of secondaries.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page