1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Smoke In Cabin?

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by SaMMaE01, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy
    Ive been borrowing a friend turbo EF9 for a while, and i also have my own turbo
    EF8 in the works, but one thing that worried me was that since he removed his ac line and stuff, he has this hole in his firewall on the passenger side, and when i drive, i can smell and sometimes see smoke coming inside, and what i wanna know is the smoke inside the cabin caused by the hole in the firewall, or is it because he dosent have a dump tube on his wastegate? i was thinking that the dumptube wont help because all it does is dump the exhaust towards the ground but air just kicks it back up into the engine back and back into the hole in the firewall. right? or should i just plug the hole up and quit bitchin?....
     
  2. hotrex

    hotrex Senior Member

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    thats from the wastegate. its a common problem
     
  3. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy



    yea i know that, but what would stop the smoke from coming into the cabin through the hole in firewall, dumptube.....block hole in firewall... or both?
     
  4. CoreyR

    CoreyR Senior Member

    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    CT



    just block the hole. find a car that came without AC and it will have a blank rubber plug were that hole is in the non AC car. just get one of those and plug your hole up.
     
  5. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts


    I'm sick, I know. :slap:


    But in all seriousness, shouldn't the car NOT be smoking at all? If there is indeed a hole, you can get an OEM plug, or go to a hardware store and get a rubber gromit. However, I think the real problem is that your engine is smoking to the point where you can see it.

    Burnt oil smoke? Or rich fuel mixture smoke?
     
  6. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy



    no no no, nothing is wrong with the car,turbo and motor run fine, its release from the wategate.
     
  7. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    Allright, sorry bout that, thought there was a problem with the car.
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    go to home depot and get some tile calk. calk up the hole.
     
  9. CoreyR

    CoreyR Senior Member

    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    CT



    LOL the hole is way too big to caulk :p
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    maybe the ef's are different... the hole on the sol was like 1/2" npt thread for the condensor line... just throw some caulk in that... done.
     
  11. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts




    Not if you get black caulk.




















    :fosho2:
     
  12. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy



    So i shouldnt even use the dump tube huh? i mean as long as i plug up the hole in the firewall, there would be no way the smoke to come into the car right? so scratch puttin on the dumptube idea just plug the hole huh?
     
  13. hotrex

    hotrex Senior Member

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005

    having a dumptube that vents under the plane of the car works fine, if you totally want to eliminate the smell, route the dumptube into your downpipe or exhaust.
     
  14. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy


    yea but i already have the kit, with the dumptube,downpipe and everything, and i dont want to do any extra metal work, so looks like my best bet is to just block up the hole in the firewall huh?
     
  15. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i'd HIGHLY suggest running a dump tube... your whole engine bay will be black with soot before you know it...
     
  16. hotrex

    hotrex Senior Member

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    seems like your a lazy ass. do it right the first time. make a good dumptube
     
  17. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX


    My boss just came over to my desk to find out why i was laughing....good thing i was on a break...this time.
     
  18. SaMMaE01

    SaMMaE01 Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Location:
    NoR CaL . . . . SaN JeZzy



    Not to sound stupid or anything, but what the differnce between a good dumptube, and a bad one? i know u can route the dumptube to ur exhaust or downpipe, but i already have premade exhaust piping, and i already have my downpipe,and i dont want to go through the extra bullshit to get it re routed, and regarding the dumptube how far down should it go down? like below the block?
     
  19. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    just get it so that it is below the motor so the wind will carry it out... no need to go crazy... just get it out of the bay
     
  20. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    You could just route the wastegate back into the exhaust thats what i did
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page