1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So is Ice Cream Sandwich worth it?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by xj0hnx, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Got a message today that ICS is available for upgrade on my Pantech Burst, just wondering for those that have upgraded if it's worth it? Is anything fucked up? Am I correct in my understanding that the rumors I've heard that Flash is broken on ICS?
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    hasn't shown up available on my sIII yet. interesting that the 'cheaper' devices are getting it first.
     
  3. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    For my touchpad, moving from 2.3 to 4.0 was a huge step in performance and efficiency. Probably because the devs spent more time on ICS than gingerbread. And my Flash works fine, but of course its YMMV.

    I like ICS because the default browser is 1000x better plus Chrome can only be installed on ICS and i feel its much better than the stock browser as well. Second, ICS has a "taskbar" where you can click and it titles what apps are running, so it makes multi-tasking a bit easier. I say its worth it.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Cool. I'm going to upgrade when I get home from work. I use Opera, or Orweb if I am using Tor, might give Chrome a try, but I really like Opera for general browsing.
     
  5. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,278
    Likes Received:
    498
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    ICS is most def worth it.
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    For the most part I'd have to agree, there's a couple little quirks that are annoying, but other than that it's pretty nice. One thing that really sucked is that I lost root, and have not been able to get it back. I found the files I need, but apparently you have to have an external sd card installed ...and I don't, need to find one.
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    My S2 got it over a month ago? It's kinda busted... have to go back to GB. Maybe you're thinking JB B?
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I have 4.0.4 on my phone.
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    That's Ice Cream Sandwich :p
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    i thought that was 4.1.

    ohh well, i can't keep track.

    frankly, it all looks the exact same to me.
     
  11. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Can you change the items in the task bar? Thats my only complaint, its all shit I dont use.
     
  12. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I use ADW launcher EX- you can move all you want in the task bar.
     
  13. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,402
    Likes Received:
    626
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    lol, i was wondering about B's phone. was thinking that the sIII came with ics stock.

    i updated it on my phone, i like it with the exception that i can no longer plug into my usb radio.
     
  14. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    Is that an app, or a theme that I have to load?
     
  15. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It's a launcher that replaces the stock interface- like getting rid of TouchWiz if you have a Samsung phone or Sense if you have an HTC phone.
     
  16. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,455
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    i'm far from a power-user when it comes to phones. other than nav, text, web, and words with friends, i use it for making phone calls and little else. i'm not a phone addict like most.
     
  17. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I'm definitely not a 100% do everything on the phone kind of guy, but for the stuff I do use it for, I use it a LOT- so I like to have an optimized interface. Launcher replacement is extremely common and easy- that's really all I have done aside from downloading relevant applications. Your real phone junkies root the phone and customize from the kernel up. I'd like to, but I don't have time to do that...
     
  18. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, got root back using ClockWorkMod, and an older presto for 3.0.7, which fails to install, but gives you root back once the phone reboots. Very odd. As long as I got Tor and RedPhone back, all that matters.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2012
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page